Skip to content

Trail Mix

November 19, 2008

Now on with the crunchy, munchy, mixed-up life I lead…

  • About 12 hours from now (it is 7:15ish AM as I type) I will take a taxi to the airport to take a plane to La Paz, Bolivia to take a taxi to a hotel to spend the night and wake up really early in the morning to take a taxi back to the airport to take a plane to Cuzco, Peru to take a taxi to the hotel to SEE MY HUSBAND! Hurray!!! (enormous smile!)
  • My gotstahdootahday list is not very long: write out some notes about the kids for the gal staying with them, pack, orientation with the gal staying with the kids, feed the family every once in a while, and get going to SEE MY HUSBAND! (humongous smiling!)
  • This will be the first time that I am traveling alone internationally. Every time before I have been with a group or my family; that is quite a record seeing as I have traveled internationally about a dozen times. But I won’t be alone when I get there because I am going to SEE MY HUSBAND! (still smiling!)
  • You might wonder why my husband is there already without me. He is doing a two week conference tour: Quito, Ecuador; Lima, Peru; and finally Cuzco, Peru. Our team left last night to go up to Cuzco and help. It will be fun to be with the team but I am most excited that I will get to SEE MY HUSBAND! (the cheeks are becoming sore I am smiling so much!)
  • Don’t be fooled by the shop talk. For me this is a totally romantic rendezvous in an exotic ancient city. We are celebrating 12 fabulous years of marriage. We are going to roam the streets hand in hand and explore Machu Pichu but the most wonderful part is that I get to, as much as my heart desires, SEE MY HUSBAND! (smile wanes to a loverly, starlight gaze grin with fluttering eye lids and a longing sigh…)

signature

13 Comments leave one →
  1. libzsonshine permalink
    November 19, 2008 9:25 am

    It’s really too bad that you’re not excited about your trip!! :o)

    Have a great time! Don’t worry about your kids, I’m sure they’re in GREAT hands and they’ll have fun too!

    Now get going, you’re off to SEE YOUR HUSBAND!!!

    (Traveling/packing music suggestion…”I’m off to see my husband” sung to the tune, “Off to see the Wizard” as in Oz!!!!) I’m sure you can come up with some fun lyrics!!

  2. Steph permalink
    November 19, 2008 9:43 am

    Awwwww, what a sweet post. :)

    I hope you get everything done that you want to, and leave with peace and a song in your heart.

    Traveling internationally alone: no sweat.

    Doing it with three kids and without the husband: Just shoot me now.

    Last time I did that, the kids and I left a suitcase behind on the wrong side of security. We were lucky the TSA didn’t blow it up. ;)

    You’ll be amazed at how peaceful and easy it is. Of course, the security in those countries is probably easier and better-organized than in the Atlanta airport.

    Have a GREAT time SEEING YOUR HUSBAND!

    What kind of conference tour is he doing?

  3. November 19, 2008 10:20 am

    Gorgeous @ngie. So sweet with all the smiles and the starlit gazes. Have a very romantic anniversary in a city with so much history and so much to see – Machu Pichu, wow! Can’t wait to hear all about it :)

  4. November 19, 2008 10:46 am

    that’s so sweet. i hope that you enjoy all. i know you will. love you.

  5. November 19, 2008 12:43 pm

    Have a great time! I love your smile. I noticed on Sunday how it lights up your whole face. Now go and let DaRonn see it!! Great post.

  6. November 19, 2008 4:00 pm

    Yay! HOw fun for you! Can you believe I lived in Quito for 12 years and never got to Peru??? Have fun!!!

  7. Mom permalink
    November 19, 2008 4:08 pm

    Machu Pichu (sp)!! how exciting. I would like to go there some time. Send me a small rock from there! Oh, and have a good time with your husband!!!

  8. November 19, 2008 6:23 pm

    :D I’ve got tears for ya, girl. Seriously. Not makin’ it up. I’m so happy for you! Loved your rundown of the travel details on #1.

  9. November 19, 2008 7:02 pm

    I’m sorry, did you say something about going to see DaRonn? I couldn’t quite get that in your blog. :P
    Yay for seeing him!

  10. November 19, 2008 7:11 pm

    12 years and clearly still crazy about that man … that’s SO good to see. You guys are wonderful. Have the BEST time.

  11. November 19, 2008 8:41 pm

    Praying for you, that you have peace and feel full company in Him during your travels.

    Bless you real good!!!

    Roxx

  12. November 21, 2008 10:55 am

    I have heard it is always harder for the one staying back because the one that is traveling is always busy. Looking forward to getting you here to Cusco. I am glad that we did it.

  13. December 2, 2008 3:47 pm

    so glad that you get to celebrate in style!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

