Has it been that long?

About a year ago I hit a rough spot in my parenting. I could look you in the face and tell you, “I do not enjoy my children.” And not just every once in a while like when they colored on the walls or something silly like that; it was pretty much a constant feeling of being annoyed. Knowing that it was not the fault of my children rather an issue I had to deal with in my own heart I began seeking help in prayer and from the people around me. One of my friends is a great sounding board for me because she always has practical ideas for finding solutions. We came up with the idea of a journal about what I am learning from my kids and what I value in them. I started writing down things and as the weeks progressed I came to find my attitude towards my children changing.

Today I can stand before you, look you in the face, and tell you with full assurance, “My children are a delight and a joy.” I thank the Lord that he has brought me to this place through a number of wonderful friends, godly examples and countless influences by way of teachings, blogs, books, ideas, etc.

May I encourage you? There is hope for those tough spots in your life. Be proactive and seek the help you need. Take heart today.

Treasure Board by my desk
Treasure Board by my desk
thumbnail close up
thumbnail close up
14 thoughts on “Has it been that long?

  1. So honest and encouraging! Thanks for sharing. I discovered the very same thing with my husband. You know that verse: “Whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good report, if there be anything noble or praiseworthy; think on these things,” … it actually works! Praise God for simple things that help in times of great need. :D

  2. Annie – That is a perfect verse for this post! You made me laugh with your line: …it actually works! :-)

    Natalie – So often I would like to see the progress a bit quicker than it appears; but it is usually after I have forgotten about what I was ‘trying’ to accomplish when I am reminded of where I have come from and I rejoice. To God be the glory for great things he has done. :-)

  3. During a real rough patch in my life, shortly after my mother’s death, I lost my happy go-lucky positive attitude. A good college friend mail me a care package with a blessings book in it with the instructions to write down 5 things or ways in which the Lord blessed me that very day. In a couple weeks, I found hope and blessed assurance that God was right there with me through the yucky part of life.

    I admire your honesty Ang! You’re a great Mom and an inspiration to others! Although it is comforting to know that even the great mom’s struggle at times…so you’re not so perfect, eh? Smile!!

    God bless!

  4. So glad that you are a real mom… who tells it “real.” When I was new to parenting, I felt like I was the only one who didn’t feel enamored with my kiddo or my role all the time… and that made me feel like a failure- or at least not like a good mom. Honest women, like you… were SOOOO important for me… and still are.

  5. Libby – that must have been a rough time for you. Thank God for wise friends that put their intentions into action. There is a great difference between ‘perfect’ and ‘being perfected’. Thank you for your kind words.

    Amy – That is so true sister-girl! I don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for honest to goodness mamas tellin’ it like it is. I would be a wreck; I just know it.

  6. sweetie, i know how much you love those kids! we all have those days, but I bet your season didn’t last long. i so appreciate the go-get-em way you deal with these kind of challenges in your life–most of us are content to wallow in our melancholy a whole lot longer, until something shocks us out.

  7. You are an encouragement. God has given me a great love for my children, though sometimes it’s hard to get in touch with those feelings. That’s a great and very practical strategy. You had told me that some time back, I remember. I have several journal entries dealing with my children :).

  8. Christy – I laughed about the part where you said that sometimes you are not in touch with those feelings. :-) Ha! I know what you mean.

Leave a Reply

