Sushi

Brazilian Coffee is one of the hippest restaurants in town. Their specialty? Sushi! The sushi lovers who have come from the States say that it is some of the best sushi they have ever eaten. It was here that I tried my first big, squishy, delicious mouthfull of raw fish. I was hooked!

For our ten year wedding anniversary we took an exotic trip to Buenos Aires. Amidst the fun of experiencing all things Argentinian we ate at a food court in a huge mall. He had steak, I had sushi. The thing is, though, that it came on a plastic tray with a plastic fork and none of the frills of the presentation of what I knew from back home. It wasn’t the same. He couldn’t believe that I really didn’t like my meal; it was sushi after all. Don’t you like sushi? I do like sushi; just not this sushi.

So, am I going to pull out a spiffy life changing application from this insightful illustration? I could… but I am not going to. You are! (smile)

What truth can you pull from this illustration?

Yum!
Yum! photo by Donald Cook of Potrero, CA
10 thoughts on “Sushi

  1. 1. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

    2. To eat a daily allotment of needed Omega Essential Fatty acids…eat above plate of sushi!

    I’ve never had sushi…maybe I should save my 1st experience for my future trip to see you and your 25 kiddos!!

  2. :D I like your tactic.

    I must admit myself …. grossly uneducated … in the sushi arena. Ahi tuna is about as close as I’ve come. Love the stuff, though!

    Life illustration … you tease me. I’m not sure if I’ve got this one. … Disappointed expectations? Excellence vs. mediocre? hmmm…

  3. Oh no, maybe it’s too early but I can’t think of any big life illustrations from that lovely plate.

    But what I can say, is that I love sushi too :) A plate of sushi has this great way of making me feeling satisfied but it doesn’t feel ‘heavy’ if you know what I mean. Love it :)

  4. Yum ! Yum! Need I say more?? I LOVE sushi!!

    Um, Don’t knock it ’til you try it…

    Big things come in small packages…

    It’s all about presentation…

    Lame, I know, but it’s what I came up with!! :-)

  5. Kendra – How nice of you to comment. :-) That made me smile to see your name there. Yeah – a fellow sushi lover.

    Birgit – And you love sushi too! How great. Yes, satisfaction without the discomfort, I totally know what you are talking about.

    Anita querida – Hm, I have have tried that before, I will have to see about that.

    Libby – Yes, we will make it a point to get sushi next time you are here. :-)

    Thumbuddy – Ha! To each his own… :-) Love you!

  6. I don’t know how much of a “life truth” this is, but I have recently realized how much I depend on the look or packaging of things in order for me to like them. Like your sushi, which didn’t taste as good to you because it was in a plastic container. Also, maybe subtly you thought that because they didn’t take very much time with the presentation, maybe they didn’t take their time to do a good job with the actual sushi…?
    We have some Kool-Aid that is not the color it is supposed to be. We have cherry Kool-aid that is green, and it doesn’t taste like cherry to me. We also have some “Blue rasperry” flavored Kool-aid that is clear, and I always end up adding a couple drops of blue food coloring to it, just so it doesn’t look like water!
    This is a stretch, because I don’t want to be saying “judge people by their appearances” (I don’t want to be that type of person) but in a sense I think we DO judge people by their appearances, whether we like it or not. It may just be a knee-jerk response, which we can mentally amend later, but I think we probably all do it. That’s not to say that we all need to change our appearances to “look like good Christians” (whatever that may look like!), but I think we need to realize that even if our intentions are to just “be ourselves” or not conform to the latest styles, our appearances affect others’ perceptions of us more than we may imagine.
    How’s THAT for pulling a nifty life changing application (not sure about that!) out of your experience? =)

  7. Jungle Sarah – This was a great application. It is so true that we often form prejudices without intending to based on what our eyes capture. I think that if that same sushi had been given to me on a nice plate with chop stick (instead of a weak plastic fork) I may have thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for your very insightful thoughts.

    You cracked me up with your Kool-aid story! :-)

Leave a Reply

