Desire part 3 of 4

(Click these link for the first two installments: part one and part two.)

A modern day parable

I’ll tell you another parable, “The kingdom of heaven may be compared to a rich man who started ‘The Christian School of the Arts’. But while the personnel director was away at a training seminar the assistant personnel director hired a few atheist teachers that had great resumes.

Mid semester some things were evidently awry. It was discovered that some teachers had brought in nude models for the students to study the human form.

A group of disgruntled staff members went to voice their concerns to the founder of the school and said to him, ‘Sir, did you not start a Christian school? How then do you have atheist teachers instructing the students using nude models?’

And he said to them, ‘There was someone on the staff that has a grudge against me. He quit the second week of school. It has been rumored he thought he should have been the one to start the school. So he has tried to undermine me. He has done this!’

The disgruntled staff members said to him, ‘Do you want us, then, to make life hard for the atheist teachers so they quit too?’

But he said, ‘No; for while you are making life hard for them the morale of the whole teaching staff will plummet and there will be students who become discouraged. In the end we might squelch the creativity of some of the students causing them to quit as well as lose some of the excellent teachers that are God fearing. Let them be until the end of the semester. At that time I will have the personnel director gather together the teachers that his former assistant hired and tell them that they are fired; then I will have him invite the other teachers and all the students to my house for a big dinner so that they know I appreciate them and want them to stay on.'”

(Adapted from the parable found in Matthew 13:24-30)

Re-writing bits of the bible is a form of meditation. We are encouraged to meditate on the word. This is not the meditation of clearing the mind; rather it is like what cows do when they chew their cud. They chew, swallow, regurgitate, chew and swallow again.

Some people diminish Christianity to nothing more than a list of regulations. Their intentions are good but their execution is usually a wet blanket. I know because I used to be that zealous wet blanket and all my righteous works it turned out to be nothing more than filthy rags, wet filthy rags. Let’s leave the eradication of evil in the hands of the One who holds the times and the hearts of man. Let’s direct our passion to a brilliant expression of authenticity, life and love that attracts people to the truth.

14 thoughts on “Desire part 3 of 4

  1. Ang, I remember that meditation/cow correlation from Victory. Cool. Also, when Hal preached last week he did the story of the tares. Cool. I have the CD requested.

  2. Whew! See what I get when I don’t read your blog for a few days…I log on to see the last post on desire, realizing I have to go back and read them all. Thank you for sharing this, it’s such an encouragement.

  3. Wow @ngie, this post inspired me to go back and read from the beginning – this is really good stuff!, thank you! I’m learning lots. That passage from ‘The Screwtape Letters’ about “abandoning the clamour of self-will” and “when they are wholly His they will be more themselves than ever” – wow! Really gets you thinking …

  4. @Brandy – I would be interested in hearing what you have to say about the four parts. I am glad you have been encouraged.

    @Birgit – That is the highest compliment that a teacher can receive. Thank you!

  5. Is Emily talking about Victory Tulsa? I know that cow thing is classic Pastor Sharon! Does she mean Hal Boehm? :)

    Did you know Word Expolosion starts today? WISH I could be there!

    I’ve never thought of rewriting bits of the Bible for meditation. Cool idea.

  6. @Danielle –

    No, there was a church we went to in Omaha named Victory. But the Hal is Hal Boehm. He and Lisa ministered at the church my sister goes to (thanks to their recommendation) in Wichita.

    Yeah, Word Explosion should be good – as always. :-)

  7. How come this just looks like an example of bad hiring and firing practices?

    Poor judgment on the nude models being used if this is a high school. Otherwise, what’s going on with the dislike of nude bodies?

  8. @rationalpsychic – Welcome! I am glad that you stopped by commented. You bring up some good points.

    How come this just looks like an example of bad hiring and firing practices?
    Are you familiar with the original parable that I based this rewrite on? It may seem, when reading the original, that it is just about lazy workers and a poorly planted field. There is a meaning that goes beyond the simplicity of the story. The original was elementary so I wanted to keep the same feel.

    Poor judgment on the nude models being used if this is a high school. Otherwise, what’s going on with the dislike of nude bodies?
    When writing this I hesitated and thought for a long time before using a controversial topic such as the nude body. I am open to discussing this issue here in the comment section if you are interested.

    I hope to hear from you or anyone else who would like to talk about this.

    Again, thank you for your thoughts.

    Peace,
    Angie

  9. Interesting how I commenting on “chewing” this stuff in my last comment and how you’re talking about it here!! Great minds must think a like!!

    Still chewing…good stuff Ang!

  10. Angie

    I

    love you.

    That retelling was awesome. Seriously choked me up … and I don’t really know why. Perhaps the care of the Master. I see that so clearly – “a bruised reed, he will not break.” I think this is a classic example of His heart. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

