Luz

‘Dar luz’ is how to say ‘to give birth’ in Spanish. Only ‘luz’ (pronounced: loose) is not a literal translation of the word ‘birth’. Literally translated the word ‘luz’ is ‘light’. So in the Latin mind a woman is honored to ‘give light’ to the child who comes from her womb into the world.

Luz

We give light to our children when they are pushed out to fill their lungs with the first breath of air.

We give light to our children when they awake from sleep startled and hungry.

We give light to our children when they need their dark fears dispersed by a soothing voice.

We give light to our children when they hear us tell them the answers to the insatiable whys.

We give light to our children when they hold our hands and traverse difficult paths.

We give light to our children when we let those hands go and tell them we believe in them.

We give light to our children when they hear us pray.

We give light to our children when they see us smile.

We give light to our children when they know we are cheering them on.

We give light to our children when we seek their forgiveness.

We give light to our children when we release them like a well aimed arrow to pierce the darkness of this world with the light that is now shining brightly in them.

Let us continue on strong, oh mothers. We are the light givers.

20 thoughts on “Luz

  1. I love this post! I actually did our last newsletter for back home on dando la luz. I talked about how the phrase is so poignant as not only is it every bit what you wrote (which you did so well) but it’s also when we are reborn in Christ that we are given that light in our lives like only he and the gospel of his salvation can give! What a precious thing we get to experience as women in giving birth to our children… and I so loved loving on Tyler this morning, such a precious boy! Thanks so much for hosting!

  2. :D Really beautiful thoughts. I love how God speaks through language. :D I also love how he speaks through childbirth, families, relationships … so much. Thanks for these great thoughts!

  3. Oh that is so cool!! When God was planting seeds in me to start my own business and leave my nice paying, benefits galore j-o-b at the hospital He told me to name my business Sonshine Therapy Services. I was mad at the time (woke up late to church…grumpy) and told Him that was a stupid name…not very professional. He then proceed to tell me that I was His light. (In which I too argued again…evidently got up on the WRONG side of bed!!) And again He showed me how my future baby’s (client’s) parents and planned 9 months for the perfect baby…and how life was so disappointing for them. Then to hear all the doom and gloom from the doctors….and how I would be one of the first to walk into their home and bring LIGHT and hope again! That the start of my business would be working with these little ones and their parents. My response…”Okay Lord….so maybe I am your light!”

    So that message from the Lord and a financial seed from my Gramps began my journey with Sonshine Therapy Services! For MONTHS after that the Lord used all forms of light to speak to me about Him and his love for us….just so awesome.

    Just had to share cuz I thought it fit in so nicely. Awesome post yet again Ang!! You’re so creative!

  4. Hey Angie! Remember me? ;) I’ve opened up a new blog on Blogspot. Anyway… I came by coz I was thinking about what you would have written! And am I happy to say that this post is beautiful… if more moms thought like you did, it would be great. :)

    Blessings!
    Addy

  5. @Katrina – Thanks!

    @Laura – Yes, our rebirth in Christ is so much like this. Beautiful!

    @Brandy – I’ll take the props. :-)

    @Libby – There is great significance in names. Sonlight is good.

    @Addy – Of course I remember you! :-) Blessings to you too.

    @Peri – Yes, we can give light to others.

  6. I’ll make it here. This looks like it’s full on treasures so I don’t want to read it when I’m half sitting…but I’m not neglecting your blog. Love you.

  7. Ok. I read it. It made me cry. I love it. I will be printing it up and putting it on my fridge once Daniel hooks up our printer. Thank you for this.

    Here’s a part I love (and totally relate to): We give light to our children when they awake from sleep startled and hungry.

    Here’s the part that made me tear up: We give light to our children when we let those hands go and tell them we believe in them.

    Even as I copied and pasted it, it made me tear up again.

    Thanks for writing this, friend, thanks for sharing it. It will be close to my heart.

    Love you.

  8. Angie,
    I too have always treasured this phrase in Spanish. I’m so glad I have other motherly examples to help me in my path as I attempt to give my children light in so many ways!

  9. I love this post!! I was going to write a blog entry on this very thing. I love the phrase ¨to give light to¨. How beautiful! And how beautiful is the treasure of children. I´m blessed beyond measure. Now if the newest addition would only come out so we all could hold her in our arms instead of only me holding her (in my belly!).

Leave a Reply

