Green part 5 the end

DaRonn took this shot of me yesterday

Links to the other parts: one, two, three, and four.

Green Free

There once was a girl

Who forgot about grace

She let envy in

And it ruined her face

In place of a glad smile

She spread a grim grin

Could coveting others

Actually be sin?

A twinge she did feel

Encroached by the green

Of hurt in her heart

When successes were seen

Action was taken

She prayed, read and wrote

Healing began

Vines of envy were smote

Made aware of the change

She sprouted a new attitude

Where envy once was

Grew now gratitude

By the fresh grace poured out

She was greatly inspired

To begin to write thanks

The sighs she retired

Grabbing a pen

And a fancy notebook

A title was inscribed

For a prolonged outlook

On the grace and goodness

That actually steered

To a kind, loving Father

Who to her had appeared

Instead of “the end”

A new start has ensued

Free from envy we finish with

To NOT be continued.

G.R.E.E.N. acronyms

Girl! Really! Envious? Even now?

Grace replaces envy. Eternity now.

Gratitude replaces envy, enter notes.

Green? Recognize. Eliminate. Eulogize. Note.

God is good. Read your writing. Eliminate the envy. Enter into eternity. Notice your niceties.

Scripture references:

Titus 3:3-7, “For we ourselves also were sometimes … living in … envy…  But after that the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appearedNot by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost; Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Saviour; That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.”

James 4:5-6. “Do ye think that the scripture saith in vain, The spirit that dwelleth in us lusteth to envy? But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.”

In these seven verses I found my parts and God’s parts.

My Part:

  • eliminate reliance upon works of righteousness
  • eliminate pride
  • be humble

God’s (God our Savior, Holy Ghost, Jesus Christ our Savior) Part:

  1. Kindness
  2. Love
  3. Appearance toward man
  4. Mercy
  5. Salvation
  6. Washing
  7. Regeneration
  8. Renewing
  9. Abundance shed
  10. Justification
  11. Grace
  12. Made heirs
  13. Hope
  14. Eternal life
  15. More grace
  16. Grace

Thank you for joining me in this process. As I hope you picked up I understand that outcroppings of envy will need to be kept in check from time to time so I have begun a gratefulness notebook. Writing is good for me. Writing down the good in my life is even better. Bless God for all His goodness and grace!

Origami made by my son. The green swan used to be an envious ugly duckling.
Origami made by my son. The green swan used to be an envious ugly duckling.
18 thoughts on “Green part 5 the end

  1. Wow! That is a great picture. The person that took it must have talent. How they could have captured the moment and frooze it in a single still shoot. I am inspired.

    Hey. Love the thinking that you are going through.

  2. Love this. The “Girl! Really? Envious? Even now?” acronym was classic. You’ve created a beautiful journal of your journey through this struggle.

    In my mind, the best use of a blog. :)

  3. @Dirt road girl – Your link worked! Yeah! :-) Yes, I, too, think this is a good use of bytes in the blogosphere.

    @Carin – To know that you were inspired to the point of action has blessed me hugely!

    @Babe – You caught a good one. :-)

    @Anita la amorosa – muchas gracias amiga mia.

  4. “She prayed, read and wrote

    Healing began

    Vines of envy were smote” – I’ll say Amen to that!

    “eliminate reliance upon works of righteousness ” – mmm. good one.

    I like the God’s part stuff too….washing, regeneration…

    Thank you so much for sharing this. really.

  5. @ngie- this is incredibly beautiful, and a struggle I think we all have. From time to time we all need to run our own check and balances…I love you princess, you reminded me of a journal I use to keep of everytime I saw the hand of God in my life from the smallest of things to the largest, and it really did encourage me and show me how much a part of my life God was everyday. I think I am going to start doing that again.

    I have loved this serious, and may I keep a copy of this poem…I think when I teach my class this weekend I would like to read it to them.

    (Are we playing the game tomorrow??? say YES)

  6. @Darla – What an honor! Thank you for wanting to share this with your class. wow. Oh, the answer is yes – the post will publish at midnight. ;-)

  7. Thank you, Angie. You’ve given me lots to ponder and ways to overcome. He is so good to us and counting our blessings everyday is sure to keep the green monster at bay!!!

    Love you and praying!!

  8. Angie,

    I love your poem, very professional. I’m glad you shared your de-greening journey. Since RED is GREEN’s compliment or opposite, what would your new color represent?

  9. @Michelle – I love your sincerity. Amen.

    @Emily – My dear sister, let’s see, red would have to been God’s grace and goodness remembered. Maybe like: Remember Every Day. What do you think? :-)

  10. Oh shoot I’ve missed a lot! Am catching up…and ABSOLUTELY LOVE this post. I’m taking it you wrote this poem…ah…you’re such a talented writer Mz. Ang!!

    Okay…on to the next one I missed!

  11. @Libby – Aren’t you a sweetie! Yes, I wrote it. Thanks for the kind words.

    That is the great thing about blogs – even if you don’t read it the very moment it is posted it is still there waiting for you later.

Leave a Reply

