We are Expecting!

The wheels have been set in motion for us to be the proud parents of a new little girl! We are adopting a three or four year old girl from our orphanage. This will be our fifth child and we are so very excited about welcoming a new daughter into our home.  The process will take about three months. So the earliest we will have her is end of February. Of course I will be keeping you up to date on the process. We ask that if you are of the praying persuasion that you take this whole process before the Lord with us. At this stage we are seeking out a good lawyer and then we need to have good social workers, judges and clerks to handle our case. After our first audience with the judge and the intent to adopt has been approved I will be posting photos of our new daughter. There are three girls right now in the home that fit the age range we want. Pictured below is a collage of all the girls in the home.

I am so thankful to the Lord for the timing of this decision. Even before we were married DaRonn and I talked about the option of adoption. We decided a long time ago that we would adopt a little girl. Now seems like the right moment for our family. She will fill in the gap between Tyler and Gabrielle. So the ages of our kids will be: 10, 9, 7, 4, and 2. (Maybe she will be 3, we’ll see how things proceed.) Another great thing about the timing is that we have friends who live here who are missionaries who are also adopting a little Bolivian girl. So maneuvering through the system and the process with friends is nice.

I got to talk to my mom on the phone the other night and give her the news. My youngest brother is adopted so she has a soft spot in her heart for adopted children. Both my parents are excited that they are getting a new granddaughter.

Ahhhh, I am just so happy! I really feel pregnant; the expectation and anticipation is swirling in my heart and giving me butterflies. A friend told me my eyes were sparkling. I am even nesting trying to get the house ready for our new arrival. Rejoice with us! God is so good.

House of Dreams girls
House of Dreams girls

signature

23 thoughts on “We are Expecting!

  1. Ohhhhhh, this is sooooo wonderful! I am really happy for you and your family. It always makes me happy to hear when people adopt :) When I start a family, I am definitely going to adopt some kids as well :) My heart sings for you!

  2. Congratulations BFF! Charlie and I have talked about our openness to adoption, so we may follow in your footsteps sometime.

    Enjoy the butterflies!

  3. Oh my goodness, I have chills! I am SO SO SO excited for you (and a little jealous too :)). I will add you to my prayer list, I pray that all will go well and it will be a smooth transition.
    Blessings!
    Joy

  4. Oh Ang, I’m so excited for you I could just do flips….which would be really funny to watch!! (I better not…I might hurt something!)

    Oh that so makes that passage that I was talking about on the Pondering post fit you just perfectly! How exciting to go through the winter months and Christmas time with such an exciting expectation!!

    I will cover you and DaRonn and the kids in prayers! I’m sure you will need plenty of wisdom and favor with the Bolivian government. Hopefully you already have some of that based on your work with the House of Dreams alone! (Favor that is!) I will also pray that God sets one little girl out, so that you know that you KNOW…otherwise if it was me, I’d end up 10 little girls in my home! HA!)

    Big hugs! I’m excited right along with ya!

  5. I pray that this morning I communicated well how truly excited I am for you and your family. I know that lives are being prepared to be blessed, not only of your new precious daughter, but of you, DaRonn, and your kiddos as well… Father God in heaven, we pray now that you would bless the entire process of adding a new life to the Washington family. We thank you that you give us a glimpse of your love and your relationship with us through our earthly families. We pray that this new heart you are adding to their family will be blessed to know you and your love even deeper through her new family. We pray for the officials, judges, lawyers and anyone else that they will encounter in this process to be gracious, to be thankful that a Bolivian child is being given a home, and will do all that they can to make the process smooth. Clear the path for them Lord, make their way straight and walk with them through this journey. Thank you for all the ways that you are going to amaze us in moving here in Cochabamba to make the Washington family that much more precious! It’s in your son’s precious name that we pray… AMEN

  6. Wonderful news!!! Can you expect three instead of one? How in the world will you choose? :) We’ll be praying for you and looking forward to all the updates along the way!

    By the way, I am loving your parenting tips on here…..great info! You’re such a wonderful mommy and great example to new moms like me! Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom!

    And lastly, I guess we both were beat out on the contest! :( Oh well….I was hoping that at least one of us would get those goods, but the Costa Rica entry was really good too! :)

  7. How wonderful! I’m so happy for you and excited for you and emotional for you! What an amazing gift to give that little girl. She will be blessed beyond measure to become a part of your family.

  8. hey angie we are really excited for you all. thank you for sharing the news with us yesterday. if i can help you do anything to get ready please let me know. I’ll be praying for the whole process. keep me updated!
    love ya,
    beth

  9. Oh, I am so glad that you all are so happy for us! It is a great encouragement to know that we are not alone in this and that you are supporting us and praying for us.

    Sarah W., you asked how we can choose just one. That is a very good question that we asked ourselves when we were feeling that the time had come to adopt. This is what we came to: our heart’s desire is that each one of the kids who live in our orphanage are placed in families. It is a dream that will continue to come true as the years progress. We are just one of those families that God has already chosen out for one of these kids. Now other families must choose to hear and obey for the children that are there and that will be there in the future, including the family for the child that will replace ours when she comes to be our daughter and there is a spot open in the home.

    Thanks again dear ones!

  10. WOW!!! I’m so excited for you! I didn’t know this was a dream of yours, but I’m SO glad you get to see it come true! How exciting! I will definitely keep you in prayers. What a big step … God bless you guys!

  11. A,

    I cannot get my Google Reader to subscribe you so I need to remember to click on my link list to visit. I am sitting catching up now and got to the very bestest part of my reads thus far! Woo Hoo! I am going to go make a post on my blog to ask for prayer requests right now. Check me out when you have a chance and let me know if OK.

    Blessings and lots of love,
    Roxanne

    1. Sorry to hear that my blog and your reader are not playing nice together!

      On my side bar there is an email subscription sign up through FeedBlitz. It is a free service that will deliver my posts to your email in box one day after they have been posted.

      Thanks for the prayer shouts out! You are so sweet Roxx!

  12. Oh, that is so great, Angie! Praying God’s perfect will be done.

    We started emergency foster care back in October…it’s tough but going well. I’ve always felt like we will add to our family through adoption some day so knowing yours is near fills my heart with joy for your family. Congrats!!

  13. Melissa, that is so wonderful to hear that you are providing foster care. There is sadly such a great need out there for it. Thanks for the kind words!

Leave a Reply

