Tuesday Tip #7 – Motivate and Energize

Categories: Personal, Family and Work

Purpose: Make life more enjoyable, teach skills for combating monotony and learn cause and effect

Materials: prize bag, reward box, change jar

The success of this technique lies in: an understanding that we do not bribe our kids rather we teach them that you can get paid for a job well done

MOTIVATE AND ENERGIZE: I use this technique on myself as often as I do with the kids. Find out what a simple motivation is for each individual of your family and then stock up on that item so that you can motivate for quicker results. Here are some examples: coffee (that is mine), candy, coins, stickers, and outings.

Energizers are just like motivators yet non material and just as important. Use these liberally. Examples are: smiles, privileges, timed work (this is an energizer for some and discourages others), positive nicknames, pep rally before a big task, and work in teams.

Interchange between material and non-material.

Storytelling is a energizer I use to engage the imagination of my kids and make work fun. I tell them a true story from my past that relates to the task at hand. They love stories!

signature

To click to more tips or to join the Tuesday Tip Team visit my tips page. Thanks!

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tip #7 – Motivate and Energize

    1. Anita la animadora – If I am anything I am an imitator of geniuses. All the tips I put here one Tuesdays are ones that I have picked up from somebody else. But thanks for the pat on the back. You made me smile.

  1. I think that is so key. I think that kids should be understanding the concept of rewards and benefits from a young age. Glad you do that with our kids.

Leave a Reply

