Wheels!

truckYipee! I can hardly believe it! Yesterday my husband picked up the truck we just bought. She’s a beaut’, isn’t she? A ’90 Patrol. It is a common make and model here so repairs are not going to be overly difficult to procure, should the need arise. Her previous owners kept her in great condition.

It is all still so surreal for a couple reasons. First of all, it has been 7.5 years since we last owned a vehicle. It was good to be able to learn how to get around as a Bolivian. It was a wise cultural learning choice we made to use taxis and buses. Now, it is time to have our own vehicle. It is taking some getting used to the idea that we own a truck. Secondly, because I am still processing my Bolivian driver’s license.  I don’t have a U.S. license either because it was stolen from me. I am trudging through yet another swamp of bureaucracy (days of lines, documents, fees, etc.) in order to be a legal driver. You just wait until I tell you about the day I get my license; that will be a joyous day!

Driving is one of my most favorite things to do. My blog layout and theme is dedicated to this fascination, in case you hadn’t noticed. This is going to be great!

signature

21 thoughts on “Wheels!

  1. Angie,

    As you know, I’m not a big fan of driving. But I love road trips! Love the new truck!

    Are you going to do something to celebrate when you finally get your license? (besides drive?)

  2. Congratulations Angie! It is beautiful! It looks a lot like a Landrover which only rich people can afford here. So it looks like you guys are riding in style. Very nice.
    Do you have to take a driving test to get your licence?

  3. yea!!!! i’m so happy for you all. i was so excited when i got my drivers license here also. it is such a relief.

  4. Thumbuddy – Thanks!!!

    Em’ – It really is!

    SSBBBFF – Yes! I agree!

    Steven – Just like the States. Though, I feel it necessary to add that they are generally all over the road. :-]

    Jutta – I like that. Thank you!

    Becky – I am still deciding. Might make the rounds picking up my close friends and we all drive around for the afternoon. Dunno yet. Maybe a christening party when I decide on the name of our dear truck. Any ideas?

    Roxx – YES!

    Sarah – The bigger the better I always say.

    Mo – Plan to.

    Birgit – That’s me!

    Shawn – I am hoping I don’t have to but we will see.

    Michelle – Oh that is a good question!

    Beth – I will be calling you for tips.

  5. Roxy…Boxy Roxy…as a name suggestion. How cool to have your own wheels! Now you get to DRIVE on those roads with all the crazy taxi driver! Good luck and many prayers!!

  6. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I remember how you always say how much you love to drive. This is a blessing from God!! Does it have a radio? Will you have sound too? I hope so. :) I think this is a bit of that ‘time for you’ I mentioned earlier. :)

Leave a Reply

