Niche

Being married to a marketer affords me new vocabulary opportunities, such as the word: niche.

1 a: a recess in a wall especially for a statue b: something that resembles a niche 2 a: a place, employment, status, or activity for which a person or thing is best fitted <finally found her niche> b: a habitat supplying the factors necessary for the existence of an organism or species c: the ecological role of an organism in a community especially in regard to food consumption d: a specialized market *

As a business, knowing your niche allows you to focus, thereby increasing effectiveness.  All energies, finances, advertising, talents and planning are directed by the defined niche.

Thinking about the strategy of the niche brings to mind the ‘one thing’ idea.

1. One Thing desired by David, Psalm 27 . 4

1. One Thing needed by Mary, Luke 10 . 42

1. One Thing lacked by the Rich Ruler, Luke 18 . 22

1. One Thing known by the Seer, John 9 .  25

1. One Thing done by Paul, Philippians 3 . 13

Niche

I am a niche,

a caved out recess in a wall.

I am a shadowy cavity waiting

to be filled by Definition,

to hold in His entirety

the One who shaped me.

Carved for purpose,

life’s a discovery.

Filled by Him,

eternity’s the trajectory.

The tomb His corpse filled,

then vacated it alive.

My being His life filled,

no longer am I a tomb.

Why look I

in places dry

for things and doings

temporal and wasting?

The fit that fits best

in this holey habitat

is the One who designed it

with a Holy chisel.

Fill this niche.

I am empty.

Brazen me with worth.

I am your hole to fill.

At times it might seem,

I am pushing you away.

Just stay.

Crowded in by glory,

snuffing out what’s sorry,

your form is not unwelcome,

just takes me some adjusting.

With every turn

I am introduced

to something

I didn’t know before.

I am Your niche.

You fill me.

signature2

*http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/niche

9 thoughts on “Niche

  1. Wow!! I so needed that Ang!! It moved me too tears as I so relate right now to your poem.

    Thank you…I really needed that today!

  2. a little late, but beautiful and much appreciated! I needed it today so I guess it is good I am late in reading your blog. He truly does fill us as He pleases. Thanks for the thought and prayer provoking poem!

Leave a Reply

