Rear View

rear view

Porch swings, fire flies, lingering sunsets, pool side fun, drives with the top down… this is some of summer in my rear view mirror. June, July and August in the Midwest are nigh unto perfection, if you ask me. Hearing my friends from the Heartland talk about how they are filling their days makes me long to be elsewhere.

I miss the States most at this time of the year.

My ‘summer’ months have been redefined. Extra blankets on the beds, flu season, space heaters, and peelable layers of clothes are the reality of June, July and August: winter in Cochabamba.

If I had grown up here it would be perfectly normal. I would find joy in the celebrations of the coldest night of the year in June. I would look forward to brisk walks arm in arm with my friends. I would not be reminiscing what I had lost, or forsaken.

Then answered Peter and said unto him, Behold, we have forsaken all, and followed thee; what shall we have therefore? (Matthew 19:27)

And every one that hath forsaken houses, or brethren, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my name’s sake, shall receive an hundredfold, and shall inherit everlasting life. (Matthew 19:29)

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. (Hebrews 13:5)

Does God remember how it was in the Garden of Eden? Of course he does. Maybe he feels the same way I do about bygone days. He might look at the earth and wish for that former glory. Yet, I am inclined to believe that this is only half of the story. He remembers, but he also hopes.

One day there will be a New Heaven and a New Earth. One day we will return to better days in timeless eternity. What we know now is a shadow of what will be. We live in goodness and we can see that when we look for it. It is all we know, so we rejoice in it. It is like my summer / winter months in a foreign land. Through faith we can look ahead and hope for the glimpses becoming reality described in scripture. We have hope.

Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth… (2Peter 3:13)

Leeland is a band who has a song called ‘Brighter Days’. Here are the lyrics.

Time keeps moving on
Through the sunshine and the storm
And my dreams are set in stone
And someday I’ll be who I want to be
For now I’ll wait
For the sun to shine again
And for now I’ll wait
For the rain to pass away

And I’m looking for the brighter days
When all my hurts seem to fade away
I’m looking for the brighter days to come my way

Faces come and faces go
But none seem to look my way
And walls have stood and walls have fallen
But my heart seems to wait
For now I’ll sit at the end of the road
And for now I’ll wait
At the end of the pathway

I’ll see the sun one day shine upon me
I’ll see the sun one day
And watch the nighttime turn to morning
But for now it all comes back around

(It is the current featured video in The Billboard. Here is a link to it, too: Brighter Days)

Today I have decided that hope is in my rear view mirror. I look back and I long for what will be.

signature2

5 thoughts on “Rear View

  1. Great post, as always Ang!

    GOOD NEWS!! You were write about my Google reader…it had the wordpress gunk in it!! Now I’m up and running again! YIPPEE!!!

    Two weeks from today I will be aboard a plane heading your way!!!

  2. Angie,

    I’ll trade you my sunburn for your extra blankies. Ha ha.

    I do love the summer. But I also love throwing extra blankies on in the winter. I guess that just means I love warmth.

    I hope you are enjoying lots of extra snuggles that cooler weather tends to bring along.

  3. I also miss home so much during the summer. Hearing all about vacations, cookouts, camping etc. But you’re right….we look forward to the future! :)

  4. I think I know how you feel.

    Back in April or May, stuff like Facebook updates from friends who are students or stay-at-home moms started getting to me a bit. You know: five more days, school’s almost out, etc.

    It just doesn’t seem fair that so many people have the right to summers off while the rest of us work full-time same like always. I got wistful, envious, had to bite back judgmental and self-pitying comments.

    Paul’s letter to the Philippians helps… to do all things through him who gives me strength? To find the secret of being content in every situation? Sounds good to me! And it doesn’t often take much self examination to see the tremendous blessings in one’s own life that far outweigh the sacrifices.

  5. Oh AWESOME! Looking back and seeing the future. What a concept! I love it!

    “Does God remember how it was in the Garden of Eden?”

    Loved that insight. Never have thought of that before.

Leave a Reply

