Why I Can Hope

Yesterday I was reminded of the power of prayer, and more specifically the power of hope. My heart said, “Yes,” and my mind said, “Why can you hope?”

Here is my answer to my mind.

Hope is a thing about the future. I don’t know the future. Based on outcomes of past circumstances similar to my present ones I can assume what may happen, but the fact remains that I do not know what will happen in the future.

Therefore, I can choose to dread or I can choose to hope.

Taking it one step at a time I can do what I know to do and in the meantime hope for the best.

compass northInstead of focusing on the negative outcomes of the past I can remember the goodness, miracles and wonderful. That is why I can hope. I simply choose to have my heart set to the bearings of hope.

On a compass many facts exist. The West fact may be present, yet we mustn’t forget about the East fact. The existence of South does not eliminate the existence of North. Realizing this I choose to set my heart’s bearings to the North, to Hope.

“One step at a time,” my husband tells me. That is right. I am stepping in the direction of hope.

My hope is built on nothing less,
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

My current trouble does not in and of itself cancel out the possibility of a good ending. Hope says that the sun will rise again, therefore good can come again. The night does not overpower the coming of the day. Good can come again.

Well, there is a rough spot. It has been easier in the past. It might get harder in the future. We do not know. We can choose to believe that good will come. Better exists just as much as worse does – so I can hope for better.

What is the good that could happen? That picture is hope.

signature2

P.S. At this present time the motivation of this writing has nothing to do with the adoption. There are some other issues at bay that I will hopefully be informing you of with more clarity in the coming days. Until then, if you are inclined to to pray you can pray that my faith is strong and that I am hopeful. Thanks.

8 thoughts on “Why I Can Hope

  1. @ngie, sorry to hear about the rough spot, and I will definitely be praying.

    “The night does not overpower the coming of the day. Good can come again.” Beautifully written. Believing with you for the good to come.

  2. Beautifully written! Hope is our anchor in the middle of a storm and Jesus is the only one who can calm the storm so we can walk in peace!

    I love ya and am praying for you during this time and standing in faith beside you!

    Big, big hugs!
    Livvy Lu

  3. Great post.Thanks for sharing it with me. My heart has been reminding of trust. Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus. I can trust Him with my hopes, my dreams, desires, future. Love you.

  4. Ang – I love these thoughts! And I love how you’ve put it – we don’t know the outcome; therefore we have a choice to dread or hope. So true! I love the power and possibility in that. :) Thanks for reminding me. :)

    And yes, I am visiting my Reader just to find out if you’ve met your girl yet. :D

Leave a Reply

