NaNoWriMo 2009 Who is along for the Ride?

Do you have plans for November? How about writing a novel?

I have been looking forward to this all year. I am posting about this kinda early because I wanted to find out who was doing it so that we could keep tabs on each other. The organization heading up this mutual, worldwide endeavor is called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writers Month, www.nanowrimo.org) .

Here is the deal: you have 30 days to write a 50,000 word novel. Anyone who finishes is named a winner. The logging in of the words on the site is completely based on the honor system. The main goal of the effort is to get people writing. What better way to do it than: with a deadline, thousands of co-participants around the world and the hope of being called a winner if you finish? I really think it is going to be fun.

There are a couple of months to plan and get organized, if you are of that nature. They recommend having a general story line or outline of what you are going to write. Then again, there are people who do no planning and just go about writing. Whatever suits your fancy is fine with me. They also say that one of the keys to being a finisher is to resist the urge to edit as you go and just write, write, write.

So who is with me?

If there are any local participants (meaning Cochabamba, Bolivia residents) I am considering organizing a get together like the first week of December, or something. Even if we don’t all finish (heck, who knows if I even will… this is my first time) I think it still would be cool to get together and celebrate our efforts.

Leave me a comment and let me know what you are thinking. If you are in another city please still let me know if you are going to do it so we can cheer each other on.

NaNoWriMo link
( link )

signature2

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2009 Who is along for the Ride?

  1. It’s too bad they don’t do this in June or July…would be much easier for me to consider doing instead in the middle of the school year.

    But alas, I will cheer you on whole-heartedly from the side line! That’s a whole lotta words but surely you got all that pint up inside of ya!

    Good luck mi amiga!

  2. Yes, I’m planning on doing NaNoWriMo again this year. Last year was my first time and I made it to just over 30,000 words.

    I have a concept for my novel, but no real story yet.

    1. I have had some ideas in the concept realm for a while. Then last week I had a middle of the night lightening bold story line hit me. I was outlining it as fast as I could before it slipped away.

      Plot has always been my hardest thing. I can start a story. I can make it fun. Ending it is so hard for me.

      I was so excited to have an end in mind. Which is not to say that things might change after the actual writing commences. It is just nice to know that I have an idea where I am going.

      Now I have to let it set until the 1st of November. This will be fun!

  3. Have you done short stories?

    I am considering a book-length project but definitely non-fiction.

    Wouldn’t know how to write a novel, devour them as I might.

    But…. maybe I’ll join you to the extent of something more around 5,000-10,000 words this fall. I’ll think on it!

    1. Hey Marti,

      Yes, I have done short stories. It would be great to have you along for the ride at whatever level of commitment you are able to give. Thanks for thinking on it.

  4. I would SERIOUSLY want to, but I honestly don’t know if I have time (or energy). I will have just started up school again, and I have to focus on that….but I am aching to do it!!

Leave a Reply

