Why I Can Hope, Again

(This is a post I did almost two months back just days before I had a surgery to remove a possibly cancerous growth. It is with a humbled heart that I can say today there is no cancer in me. Would I have preferred to not have gone under the knife? Yes. Would I have preferred to not have had any irregularities in the first place? Of course. Although, through this experience I learned that irregardless of the circumstances I can hope. I pray that as you read these words your heart would be set in the direction of hope.)

Yesterday I was reminded of the power of prayer, and more specifically the power of hope. My heart said, “Yes,” and my mind said, “Why can you hope?”

Here is my answer to my mind.

Hope is a thing about the future. I don’t know the future. Based on outcomes of past circumstances similar to my present ones I can assume what may happen, but the fact remains that I do not know what will happen in the future.

Therefore, I can choose to dread or I can choose to hope.

Taking it one step at a time I can do what I know to do and in the meantime hope for the best.

compass northInstead of focusing on the negative outcomes of the past I can remember the goodness, miracles and wonderful. That is why I can hope. I simply choose to have my heart set to the bearings of hope.

On a compass many facts exist. The West fact may be present, yet we mustn’t forget about the East fact. The existence of South does not eliminate the existence of North. Realizing this I choose to set my heart’s bearings to the North, to Hope.

“One step at a time,” my husband tells me. That is right. I am stepping in the direction of hope.

My hope is built on nothing less,
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

My current trouble does not in and of itself cancel out the possibility of a good ending. Hope says that the sun will rise again, therefore good can come again. The night does not overpower the coming of the day. Good can come again.

Well, there is a rough spot. It has been easier in the past. It might get harder in the future. We do not know. We can choose to believe that good will come. Better exists just as much as worse does – so I can hope for better.

What is the good that could happen? That picture is hope.

signature2

P.S. This post is also an accompaniment to a series on hope that a site called (in)courage is doing this month. I debated whether to add it in and then got a very sure nudge from an amiga by way of a comment today on the first posting of this post. God is so good like that.

BONUS: As a bonus edit to this post I would like to end with a scripture from the old English in the King James about hope that comes again:

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead” (1 Peter 1:3)

8 thoughts on “Why I Can Hope, Again

  1. :) Hello there, lovely lady! It is indeed a worthy post to read twice … or thrice! It’s nice to know in the midst of my non-reading of blogs that the tiny handful I stop by are in some way significant, and being used. Love you! (PS: I’m stopping by again to steal a picture of you … if I can. :) You’ll see why.)

  2. I am glad that the report you got back from that surgery was a good one. But, oh how sweet that you rested your hope in God even before you knew. May He continue to bless you.

  3. Ah…hope floats, or better yet, keeps us floating instead of drowning!

    I loved this post the first time and love it even more the second time!

    I’m gonna even pass it along to a good girl friend who would love yet another good word about Hope!

    Big, big hugs!
    Livvy Lu

  4. Hey @ngie! :-)

    Glad to hear about the positive prognosis for your immediate future.

    On the subject of Hope: something i don’t believe you have made abundantly clear is WHAT is to be ‘our Hope’.

    While the poem is suggestive of it, it is also capable of being read ‘wrong.

    If i may explain?

    ALL human beings have – or are able to Hope. Even those who have no faith other than in man or themselves hold out hope for better things to come to them in the future – or for at least not so much pain, suffering or loss to be present in their earthly lives.

    Hope in itself is not what we are Christians are to ‘do’

    Neither are we to hope that Jesus will ensure we get what we want or ask for ourselves, our family or our friends. The Key words there being ‘WHAT WE WANT’

    Rather our Hope is to ALWAYS and ONLY be for us to find and follow His will on earth for us all. That we come to acceptance Thankfulness and gratitude to the Almighty God for what He sees fit to provide us with and not what we think is ‘best’ in our own selfish and imperfect self.

    You may (or may not?) take that as a ‘given’ and believe that all Christians would do that naturally and automatically.

    i’m afraid that i see that only very rarely in those who claim to be His Followers.

    He is to be our Hope and we are to hope for what He wills, not what we do.

    i would hope you, and all, can see that is to be the case and are forever watchful for those times when we sneak some hope of our own in it’s place.

    Sometimes it is not always so obvious that/when we do.

    Christ CAN beget within us a living Hope.

    Being human still, we are capable of chosing something other than what He provides for us.

    Free-will can be a real bummer – and so very sneaky sometimes. :-)

    <B

  5. I saw your name on the lists of posts at incourage so I needed to hop on over to hear the whole thing. :) Even though it was “old news” I’m glad you are well and the surgery was a success :) Great post, girl!

  6. Hi mam,
    i am very pleased with the words and encouragements of HOPE. i hope you would be here, having every evening seminors about hope and encouragments.

    i am actually, trying to get hope back coz i am going through a problem where my girl friend (engazed) cant cope with my religious matters.

    i hope this wasn’t the life i was expecting or i don’t know?

Leave a Reply

