Inspiration To Go

There are moments when inspiration levels are high. I liken it unto an adrenaline rush. Creativity flows and beautiful things happen. This is distinct from when I just doodle and peck to get through the dry times.

There are certain stimuli that evoke this inspiration high. It is different for everyone, I am sure. Here is a list of my “Inspiration To Go” when I need a boost. There are four groups: places, audio, books and shows.

Places – When I get myself to these places and out of my regular surroundings inspiration abounds.

  • House of Dreams Orphanage
  • Tunari National Park
  • Driving
  • Botanical Gardens
  • Columbus Plaza

Audio – Audio learning is not my specialty. Usually I need silence while I create, but to spark the inspiration these are things I listen to. My hands must be occupied for it to “work” like washing dishes, baking, cooking, etc.

  • Regina Spektor
  • Coldplay
  • Leeland
  • B.Z. preaching

Books – There are so many beloved authors sitting on my shelves. Usually I am absorbed in what I read. This is a list of things I can pick up for a short amount of time then put them back down and move on revved up.

  • C.S. Lewis
  • Dickens
  • Louisa May Alcott
  • Spanish – English Dictionary
  • Professional photography compilations

Shows – This is my favorite. My tactile learning style thrives on being able to see, hear, and feel the story all at the same time. The corporal creative energy that is poured into making a show astounds and inspired me. Live performance is the most energizing; I do what I can with what I have at hand which is mostly movies.

  • Theater / Plays / Operas / Top notch concerts (Oh, how I miss access to a quality theater!)
  • Pushing Daisies
  • Chicago
  • Away We Go
  • Brothers Bloom
  • Far and Away
  • Penelope
  • Chronicles of Narnia movies
  • Count of Monte Cristo (2002)
  • Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium
  • Romeo and Juliet (1996)
  • The Beautiful Country
  • Inkheart
  • Millions

What inspires you?

Columbus Plaza at Night
Columbus Plaza at Night

signature2

10 thoughts on “Inspiration To Go

  1. That’s a beautiful picture. Is that the museum that was down the street from our hotel? Looks similar. But we didn’t get a chance to see it.

    Inspiration for me comes via music, the Upper Room, church and seeing one of the kids I work with hit an amazing milestone!

    Big, big hugs!

    1. Livvy Lu – The Upper Room is a most inspiring place, indeed.

      The picture is of the plaza down by Brazilian Coffee. Did you do the big red bus city tour? Well, that is where the bus departs from for that tour. The buidling is a church.

      Love you, friend!

  2. YOU inspire me, as do all of my children and GRANDchildren. And certain philosophical quotes that I may stumble upon as I go through life. Here’s the most recent one by Charles Haanel
    “Every transaction must benefit every person who is in any way connected with the transaction. And any attempt to profit by the weakness, ignorance or necessity of another will inevitably operate to the disadvantage.”
    This quote has given me much food for thought and discussion.

  3. we have much more in common than i imagined… I also love Regina Spektor music always inspires me (specially Folk) :) I love botanical gardens and I think God is so creative in the way He has created our brains, how some very specific release the creative spark… Beautiful!

  4. Ha, this is great @ngie, reading about all the things that inspire you … things that inspire me are the atmosphere in cafes, natural beauty – being near the sea etc, friends – meeting up for coffee, solitude – having time to think, God – having time with Him.

Leave a Reply

