Desire Fulfilled

Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
but a dream fulfilled is a tree of life.

(Proverbs 13.12 New Living Translation)

Laying on the landscape framed by my kitchen window Mount Tunari waited. From afar I watched it change unchanging. Snow, clouds, fire, sun, green, brown, and shadow playing on the peak as I longed from afar. Promises many, whispered, proclaimed and writ: I will climb you, Tunari. Did my words reach your rocky ears from afar?

The rains are coming; come to me. Her answer beat full in my chest. Come away and up; know my curves, crevasses, edges and bits. Come with feet quickened for climbing that you may feel me ‘neath you. Come with hands grasping to ascend, lungs virgin to the heights so I may afresh fill them with thin crisp air and warm rough earth.

I heard. I heeded.

Pulling draughts, ever needing more. Blood beating, keeping quick time. Impending explosion, lungs and heart assume. One. Step. Then. Another. Minutes make an hour twice. Pinnacle seen. Electricity crackles under boots. Stand, arms outstretched. Snow and sparks dance on the fingertips. Life like a tree sprouts through veins; the desire fulfilled.

They are known one by the other. Firsts are never forgotten. Cords tied tighter, binding soul with land.

(images can be seen enlarged by clicking on them)

signature2

6 thoughts on “Desire Fulfilled

    1. For years I have been wanting to do something like what is going to take place on Friday at lunch. YOU are going to be part of making one of my dreams come true. What do you think about that? :)

Leave a Reply

