Keepers

Watch this:

“… having done all, to stand. Stand therefore … “

Sound familiar? It is a phrase from the bible, often quoted all together like that. There is something sneaky about this bit of scripture, though. It is the end of one verse and the start of a new one. Maybe you can see where I am going with this. The end: having done all to stand.  The start: stand therefore.

2009 – Having done all to stand.

2010 – Stand therefore.

Roll-over verses for the roll-over of the New Year.

This is mine for 2010. Last year I did all I could to stay standing. Therefore, this year I will continue to stand. Yes. This phrase is found in the armory: Ephesians 6. A quote from T.D Jakes, “The book of Ephesians is not a book for wimps.” Another preacher once said, “When you see a ‘therefore’ you need to find out what it is there for.”

What is my “therefore”?

I call these my keepers. What has kept me standing strong through last year? What are the things I am going to hang on to knowing that they are tried and true?

First: Jesus is Lord! He is Lord of my life. He is Lord of the world. It is a fact. It is the truth. Jesus is Lord. He governs my every move. He Lords over my every decision. I trust Him as the Captain in Chief leading us to complete victory. The mystery of Majesty shrouded in humanity, submitting Himself to a torturous death and rising again in Redemptive and Perfect Victory is where my hope rests.

Second: The Bible is true. It is my light. It is my sword. It is my standard to which all other opinions and ideas must measure themselves. The seed of the Word of God has been planted in my heart and will yield a harvest of righteousness and love.

Third: Love never fails. Love is my motive. Love is my guide. Love is why I live and breathe. I am growing in Love. I am going in Love. Another quote, “Life does not so much have a goal, as a purpose….and that purpose is love.” Brian Zahnd. Love, before. Love, beside. Love, above. Love, beneath. Love all around everything and all up in everything.

Amen.

Those are the things that keep me standing. Woohoo! I got myself all excited!

Having said all that I feel it is important to mention a few other things. Following, are things that currently keep me sane which I am going to keep on with: a reading regimen, our weekly date night, running, raising my kids, creative expression, coffee, hanging with friends, travel, being out of doors, blogging, short hair, working with the orphanage, church, painting, writing, etc.

2010 is going to be great!

7 thoughts on “Keepers

  1. Hey Angie! I just tried to leave a comment, but something didn’t work. I’ll try again. Happy New Year to you and your lovely family!

    I wanted to stop by to invite you to join in on the “Christmas Around the World” photo challenge at Missionary Moms! There a fun giveaway to go along with the challenge this time! Come visit the following post to find out more! God bless!

    http://formissionarymoms.com/2010/01/02/christmas-around-the-world-photo-challenge-and-giveaway/

  2. Wow, this was really inspiring @ngie!

    What a fantastic way to enter into this New Year holding onto these perspectives about the Lordship of Christ, the power of His Word, and the purpose to love in everything.

    Amazing post.

    Happy New Year my friend xo

Leave a Reply

