Trail Mix

Now on with the crunchy, munchy, nutty-fruity, on-the-go, bite-sized-goodness, mixed-up life I lead…

  • Adoption update: called my lawyer, she said the judge is being fired because she moves too slow, until she leaves they are trying to push as many cases through as possible, lawyer is hopeful for our case, it is out of the filing cabinet, out of the file folder and laying on the desk, this is the desk that assigns us a child, words of the lawyer, “Could be any day now.” (Just as a refresher this is the same lawyer who said mid-December, “Wait a month,” and who said mid-January, “Wait a month”.)
  • As I sit here mid-February and hear the lawyer say, “It could be any day now,” I am telling myself, “Wait a month. Have I fallen to cynicsm? Or is this a survival method to safe-gaurd myself from further dissapointment? Well, it will happen when it happens, no matter what anyone says. I trust in God’s timing.
  • On the subject of reading I started a new book by Francine Prose called “Reading like a Writer”. So far I like it very much.
  • Raimy turns 12 in 19 days. Incredible.
  • I am officially a registered Bolivian voter. Voting day for mayor (or something like that) is Sunday, April 4. On voting days in Bolivia driving is prohibited as well as gatherings of 10 or more people before 7:00 PM. Sunday, April 4th is Easter. We are making adjustments. Probably a Good Friday service and a late Sunday evening service. Still unhappy about not being able to gather as a church family to celebrate the resurrection of our Lord. Still,  I know that this hardship and persecution is nothing compared to what fellow brothers and sisters around the world are experiencing.
  • We have been working harder than we ever have in these last few months. Easy is for the lazy right? Sometimes I would like to be grossly frank about the current state of affairs. Then I remember all the wonderful things God has done for us thus far and I have to shut my mouth and just trust that things are going to work out fine.
  • The rainy season has passed and we are back to the sunshine here in The City of the Eternal Spring.

2 thoughts on “Trail Mix

  1. Praying for you as you continue to wait. I don’t think you’re cynical, I think it’s just “coping with the culture.”

    Did they set the voting intentionally on Easter? Good grief, that’s frustrating!

Leave a Reply

