Scars – Acquainted

They started telling me their stories. It caught me off guard when the children who decided to speak shared about their mothers. “My mother brought me a huge cake,” as the extended arms indicated the enormous dimensions. “My mother is beautiful,” another declared with loving eyes. “My mother is going to come and take me from this place,” the oldest of the group at seven years old crossed her arms in defiant determination. The possiblity may exist due to the foster type care that we provide children. But those words shot forcefully from that little mouth straight through my heart.

Suffering doesn’t touch you until you touch the suffering. And until you are touched by suffering you will not touch a sufferer.

I used to say that I would much rather learn from the Good Book that God has provided for our benefit rather than at the cruel school of hard knocks. That is not the case now. I see value in feeling, to bring me to a new awareness not attainable by facts on a page.

In my ignorance of pushing suffering away from myself I also pushed the sufferers away. As I have learned to embrace the hardships in my life I have also embraced the suffering people. Skirting the valley sent me tumbling down in only to realize that there were others going through as well.

Three days to break the body of Jesus and see it revived again with scars to testify. Thirty-three years suffering with raw and blistering humanity to break his heart, never to see it fully restored. He is a man acquainted with suffering. Can I be acquainted with him yet ignore his empathy and compassion? Doubtful.

He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.” (Isaiah 53:3)

This is a description of Jesus. Namely the part of Jesus’ life when He was giving it away. This passage is full the horrific suffering that Jesus took upon Himself. He knows the pain. He still carries the scars. We are not alone.

Isaiah 53:4- 9 Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

5  But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

6  All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all.

7  He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth.

8  He was taken from prison and from judgment: and who shall declare his generation? for he was cut off out of the land of the living: for the transgression of my people was he stricken.

9  And he made his grave with the wicked, and with the rich in his death; because he had done no violence, neither was any deceit in his mouth.

Take a moment and notice the different kinds of suffering that Jesus took upon himself. Do you identify with any of these? Let it be a comfort to you that you are not alone with your pain and scars.

originally posted: Aug 6, 2008

Scars – Introduction

Scars – Acquainted

Scars – Tattooed

Scars – The Healer

Scars – Magnetic Attraction

Scars – Conclusion

6 thoughts on “Scars – Acquainted

  1. You know I am struck that before time began, he knew that my daughter Gillian would never live here on earth with me and her family, yet there is a plan and a purpose for her life, for our grief…Jesus died on that cross so we would have full access to God as adopted children as co-heirs with Christ. That we would have eternal life and that we can one day be re-united with loved ones in heaven.
    God bless you Angie,
    Carin

    1. Carin, the gal who came to me and spurred the idea for this series by asking me for the teaching is a member of our church and actively involved in leadership. I have had a few purposeful conversations with her about their loss. I know that some people become bitter and hateful towards God when hardships come so I wanted to help her through that if that was the case. So I asked her directly what her feelings were towards God. She said that she felt closer to Him than ever before. She also shared that her faith was more resolute than ever and she was determined to finish her race because she wanted to be able to meet “quesito” (the name their 2 year old son had affectionately been calling the baby in mamas belly) in eternity.

  2. That is victory and glory to God right there, preach the gospel and use words if necessary. Live out the grace, the love, the forgiveness, the victory, the truth in our lives given to us by God.
    None of us is perfect but when we are living in victory and loving our neighbors, lives are changed, families are changed, communities are changed and God…well God gets the glory and we get to spend eternity in heaven with him and my daughter Gillian and Quesito, and …

  3. I have been learning a *bit* about this, yes. And I totally identify with you as well. I wanted to learn the best way. To me, that was learning the easy, painless, happy way before anything happened so that I didn’t have to walk the ‘painful’ path. But yes, I have learned some of what the valley looks like. And I’ve learned that the valley is not the absence of God, or the lack of fellowship, or loss of wisdom. Quite the opposite; the valleys are actually designed of God, just as well as the level plains and the mountaintops. I have learned SO much that is good and rich and life-giving in my valley. I have learned how to truly see the suffering. I have learned how God sees the suffering. (Is that too broad? A bit of how God sees it perhaps?)

    God allowed a powerful and painful occurrence to happen the other day that gave me a whole new perspective on Him. I want to blog about it, but got stuck trying … perhaps I should try again.

    1. Anita mi amiguita, thank you for your true words. Why are we trained to think that dark times are evidence of failure of faithlessness? I am so glad to know that you have not left His side even in the hard times. Let’s hold fast to His hand.

Leave a Reply

