Dear Raimy,

I call you Raimy Baby. You got that cute little grin on your face and asked me if I would ever stop calling you that. We came to a compromise that when you had babies of your own I would no longer call you Raimy Baby. By then I think that it will have become too much of a habit and I will continue with your little nickname.

Growing up I dreamed of you. As I played with my Barbies and dolls I imagined being a mama. All my favorite girls got the name Raimy. I thought I had invented it and I thought that it was the most beautiful name ever. The day I found out that there were other girls named Raimy I was shopping with my mom, your Oma, at a store called Target. We came to the checkout and the teenager in the red shirt ringing up our items wore a name tag at my eye level. Even when I got all excited about the fact that she was named Raimy she still smiled and was very kind to me. That encounter settled in my mind the goodness of the name Raimy.

Your papa suggested Olivia as a middle name. He liked the calm sound of your first and middle names together. I do too. He also chose the scripture that we thought would exemplify you:

3 Do not let your adornment be merely outward—arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel— 4 rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.” (1 Peter 3:3-4)

Your names have meanings. We could not find any congruency in our search as to the meaning of the name Raimy, so we gave it a meaning. There is a word in the Greek (used to write part of the bible) which is: Rhema. It is one of the words for ‘word’. This is not the written word. Rather, this is the living and spoken word. Most often it is used to refer to the prophetic word, the word of God or the word that is preached. Raimy means: the living, spoken word. Olivia means olive. In the bible the anointing of the Holy Spirit is compared to oil. In the time of the writing of the bible oil was made primarily from olives. So Olivia as a name carries the meaning of: anointed. Anointed means set apart for a specific calling or purpose. All together Raimy Olivia means: the annointed, living, spoken word of God.

Since you were very little you have been a calm and peaceful person. You are gentle and compassionate. I am so enjoying seeing you blossom into a lovely lady. Your sweetness is attractive, your faithfulness compelling. Thank you for teaching me the importance of being kind. Thank you for showing me the value of a quiet nature. Thank you for opening your heart and demonstrating how to love.

I love you my Raimy Baby!

05/07 - Raimy and Mama, Krug Park, St. Joseph, Missouri

9 thoughts on “Dear Raimy,

Leave a Reply

