A Word or Two about Coffee

Can I get a shout out for the wonders of coffee? The stuff is great! My shelves remain stocked with all kinds of coffee beans thanks to family and friends who encourage my habit. I even have a few different devices for preparing my coffee just the way I like it: a grinder, a french press, a cappuccino maker, and a good old fashioned drip style maker. People who know me know that I always have time for a chat over a hot cup o’ joe.

a treasured gift from a precious friend

When Kaitlynn came home we immediately started in with English. Ever eager to learn she repeated everything like a parrot. The other night she said her first English word on her own initiative. What did she say? So glad you asked. “Lub-oo,” she said as we went through our bedtime routine. For those that are rusty in toddler talk that is: love you. My heart just melted away!

Well, this morning came the second English word of her own accord. This time she saw me sit down with my steamy mug and cheerfully pronounced, “Coffee!” Made me laugh out loud with sheer joy! Oh yes, I indoctrinate them young around here. So far all my girls love the stuff. The boys won’t touch it, neither will my man.

We shall conclude this caffeinated essay with my favorite coffee quote:

Faith without coffee is dead.

What are your feelings towards coffee?

18 thoughts on “A Word or Two about Coffee

  1. Love coffee! But because of where we’ve worked, I’ve learned to live without it when I must. I substitute a hot, milky, sweet cup of tea… which is no substitute, but good on its own terms. :)

    Your daughter is adorable! Makes me long to have another… We are done. We’ve been done for many years, and there is no chance for me to get pregnant. My husband thinks four is good and says we won’t adopt unless God drops one in our laps. I ain’t seeing any shadows of baby girls about to drop in the horizon, but corner of my heart still prays that God has a daughter for us. On the funny side, there is a distant cloud with two more boys hanging over us that might drop them in our laps! (It’s complicated… one of those family type issues…)

    Still, we have friends that adopted 11 and 13 year old sisters from an orphanage in Lesotho, so my heart still hopes for some more girls in this house one day!

    If not… well, I will welcome my daughter-in-laws with welcome arms and joy!

  2. Love, love, love coffee! Especially freshly ground beans…at the moment we are OUT of coffee and don’t even have Nescafé on hand!! Definitely an emergency situation, lol! Love your quote, that’s a good one!

  3. HOLLA! Faith without coffee is dead ~ words to live by fo sure!!

    I think it’s absolutely precious that one of Kaitlynn’s first words in English is coffee! A girl after my own heart!!!!

    Big, big hugs!

  4. Forgot to mention that I’ve been following along with Kaitlynn’s story and it’s just touching my heart so much…how sweet that her first few words involve love and coffee! :) Miguel has been going to an orphanage here to help with a construction project and I’ve been teasing him about whether he’s seen any little girls that have caught his eye yet. :) He smiles. Not that we’re necessarily thinking of actively pursuing adoption, but have it in the back of our minds seeing as there are always so many needs for good homes…would be neat to have a little sister for Gracia.

  5. I don’t drink coffee at all…. so with DaRonn on that.

    I’m a Tea fan. I once peaked at 47 varieties… all in tins that took up a whole shelving unit.

    Nowadays I usually have Assam, Darjeeling, Ooolong, Keemun or Yunnan. Some single state Ceylons are ok as well. (Actually I’ll drink almost any tea that is “Proper” tea.) NOT PU EHR tea though! Aged in caves…. looks earthy… smells musty & earthy…. TASTES like diluted caves floor! (As a man with a hobby that takes him down caves I know what I’m talking about!)

    English & love tea….. going for the stereotype!!

    Tim :-)

  6. I’m with Tim on this one. I never have liked the taste of coffee. I love the smell of it being ground though. My Dad drinks it and loves it so I learned to like the smell of it being ground. Since I live in Kenya now, I get the best of both worlds. They have great tea here – and they have great coffee – so I am told. So, I can bring it to the States for gifts and people are quite happy to see me -’cause of the coffee of course :)

  7. I’m with Tim on this one. I never have liked the taste of coffee. I love the smell of it being ground though. My Dad drinks it and loves it, so I learned to like the smell of it being ground.

    Since I live in Kenya now, I get the best of both worlds. They have great tea here – and they have great coffee – so I am told. So, I can bring it to the States for gifts and people are quite happy to see me -’cause of the coffee of course :)

  8. Well, in my own opinion I would rather not place Nescafé in the coffee category, if you know what I mean. :) Fresh ground only for me please.

    1. In general, I agree about the Nescafé…however, I do love a good Venezuelan-style café con leche prepared with Nescafé when I can’t have my regular brew. :) We’ve noticed Nescafé is wildly popular here and try to keep it on hand for company, too.

      1. I do the same thing for my company who prefers the instant stuff! I use the instomatic stuff for my cappuccino cheesecake recipe, too. Yum!

  9. I love chai, too, as well as coffee, but if you say you drink “chai tea” I’ll shoot you a dirty look. It is like saying I drink cafe coffee.

  10. Oh that is so adorable about Kaitlynn.

    coffee … you know, to be honest I like the smell a great deal more than the flavor. Could not like the flavor, no matter how much I tried in the past. Then one day I had a craving for coffee and I loved it! Now it’s really off and on: depends entirely on my body chemistry at the moment, I think.

Leave a Reply

