Tuesday Tip #40 – Humble Confidence

Those who are bold enough to ask questions here at the @ are rewarded with my attempt at an answer, most of the time. If said commenter is a family member then their inquiries take top priority to me. It’s just the way I roll. Yesterday on the “Who and Whose” post, my sister, a fellow mother on this rocky path of parenthood, asked a question:

As you can see I replied with a quip and a promise. Standing by my avoidance of the idea of the possibility of attaining the elusive balance I will speak of the instilling of character in our kids.

A familiar list proclaims the traits that we are encouraged to let grow in our lives: love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance.

Let’s look at that meekness bit. A good definition I have heard is: strength under control. That is fine and well. Adding on to that thought I might add that meekness is humble confidence. A meek person knows where and from whom the strength in their life emanates. They are confident in the identity that God has placed in them as a unique being. They add to that confidence and strength the beautiful humility drawn out of a life placed in the hands of the God of love, grace, acceptance and hope.

That answers what we are working into our existence. The question is how do we do it.You know I love lists! Take what you want, leave the rest and add on some practical ideas in the comment section if you wish. I welcome the creative collaboration in the parenting of our children.

  1. Model it.
  2. Speak of it.
  3. Praise it in others.
  4. Praise it in the child.
  5. Read of it.
  6. Show it in picture books.
  7. Know what your child does well.
  8. Provide outlets for them to do what they do well.
  9. Praise what they do well.
  10. Know what your child does not do well.
  11. Speak with them about what they do not do well.
  12. Help them find ways to overcome deficiencies by trusting other people.
  13. Help them to see the strengths in other people.
  14. Help them to praise the strengths in other people.
  15. Let them express creatively their appreciation for others: drawings, writing, phone calls, sharing gifts, genuine smiles and thanks.
  16. Introduce please and thank you into your daily vocabulary.
  17. Thank the child, sincerely.
  18. Let them see you making other people important.
  19. Hang their art in your home.
  20. Pray together with them confident and humble prayers.

Those are the first few that came to mind. Please do not take this as gospel. Each parent has their own journey to walk. Trust that the Lord is alongside you as you love your kids. May the God of peace be with you all.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tip #40 – Humble Confidence

  1. Thank you Angie for such a thoughtful response. I do overflow with questions. I love that you overflow with answers when i need them.
    your list was very helpful. a few of those thing i had not thought about before.
    I do desire to be a purposeful partent, so thank you for sharing your experience with me. :)
    In my humble (lol- pun intended) opinion, i would add one to the list.
    #21. Give God ALL the glory.
    i am in constant battle with my own weakness of pride and this has become my montra this year.
    i look forward to reading everyone elses additions to the list :)

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with Shawn. Our school motto is Non Nobis Domine which means not unto us Lord. They give all the glory to God.

    I was also going to add that as parents seeing us admit our mistakes and asking our kids for forgiveness when we blow it has been very powerful. I know as a child I thought my parent knew everything, so when they admitted they were wrong and asked us to forgive them it was a huge eye opener. It has been very helpful with my adopted kids.

    Great list. Balance is hard to find. Our pastor always warns about the ditches on both sides of the road. Thank God, He pulls us out of them and gets us back in our lane.

    1. Signe, that is a powerful motto. Awesome. Your addition to the list is indispensable; thanks for tacking it on here.

  3. Never having had children I am completely unqualified to comment on parenting. Of course being unqualified has never stopped me before. Guess I need to work on on my humility and meekness.

    A self centered focus has always been my biggest problem. One hard lesson in humility that children, and me, need to learn at some point is that they are not the center of the Universe.

    Christian children need to know that everyone they see, and interact with, is a child of God, like they are. To use Jesus as a role model and treat everyone with love and respect, as he did. I am afraid as a child my favorite word was “mine”.

    1. I agree, Ed, that it does not come naturally to treat everyone with respect. Quite the contrary! I appreciate you chiming in on this post even if you felt “unqualified”. Even if you aren’t a parent you have (or had) parents and you interact with parents quite regularly so your point of view is not only valid but welcomed. I’ll be the first to tell you that I have not yet arrived; nor do I imagine I will be “arriving” any time soon so I am super open to any bit of help I can get along the way.

      I am glad you are here. :)

Leave a Reply

