My Uncle Gregg

My first ever plane ride found me seated with my best friend, my siblings and my parents on our way to Washington D.C. My uncle and his family lived near there. We saw the sites and did all the patriotic things. We also spent time getting to know the new twin baby cousins and their older sister. One of the evenings my uncle Gregg made us shrimp; it was simply delicious. I don’t remember how old I was exactly; maybe about nine or ten. I do remember that I loved everything about the trip.

Truth is I have absolutely no negative memories of my uncle whatsoever.

He is gone now. I am sad because because he was still pretty young. I am glad, though, that I only have good things to say about him.

He was jovial and quick to smile with a happy glint in his eye.

He kept his tight curly hair short; though, they told me that during high school it was quite bushy and large.

His lawyering took him from the Midwest to D.C. then to Arizona. My grandparents would have my parents and us kids over for the holidays. Gregg would always call when we were there and the adults would pass the phone around to talk. Since my grandparents had just the two boys my Grandma Houtz always had a contented grin on her face as she hung up the phone.

I am sure that there were unpleasant things about his life, as there are for us all. For me, though, he remains a fixture of fun and goodness. For that I am thankful.

He will be missed.

15 thoughts on “My Uncle Gregg

  1. I am so sorry to hear this Angie, my prayers are with you and your family, may God give your family the comfort you need. Blessings

  2. Oh Ang, I’m so sorry. I’m sure it’s hard being “away” in times like these as well. My thoughts are with you and your family …

  3. What a beautiful tribute Angie! I got tears in my eyes just reading this…although today that’s been a rather easy thing with Mimi passing. Heaven just got two more awesome angels!!

    My prayers are with you and your family. May God shed his perfect comfort over you. Do something special to commemorate your Uncle in Bolivia…plant a tree or something.

    Big, big hugs my friend!

      1. It would be a special thing for your entire family as years go by!! And comforting to you while you’re there! OH I’ve GOT IT!!! A memorial cactus!!! Then if you leave one spot you could always take it with you!

  4. I am sorry to hear of your loss Angie.

    It is wonderful to hear of a man who had the great gift of putting a smile on everyone’s face.

    That is the best epitaph that anyone can have. Thinking of him puts a smile on your face.

    The world needs more people like your Uncle Gregg. I miss him and I never even meet him.

  5. Ang, I think I was 5 when we went which makes sense because Kavan’s kept Kent for us as he was only a baby (and not officially ours yet). I remember the shrimp, but more than that I remember tacos – I ate 3 and amazed everyone!

    Recently the phone calls turned to actual visits at the holidays. We would all try to beat him at cribbage without much luck. But I think this last year I beat him and stunned everyone! ha ha ha

    1. Emily, I am glad to hear that the phone calls turned in to actual visits. He was a cribbage man, too, eh? I think I better re-learn how to play that game since it seems to be a family trademark…

  6. i just saw uncle Gregg a few weeks ago when he came up to visit Grama and Grampa. We did play cribbage and he beat me 2 out of 3. He showed me his beautiful photos of his latest trip with Jackie. they went to the virgine islands. i always looked forward to seeing their photos from all the places they went. Hawaii, France (more then once) and Alaska.
    I am so greatful that i got to see him as much as i did. i will miss him. but now i am most concerned with how Grama and Grampa will do once they get back from Arizona.

    1. Shawn, I am glad to know that you got to see him so recently. I didn’t know he was such a traveler… makes sense, though. Thanks for sharing.

  7. @ngie, I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. Such a lovely tribute to your uncle here. Thinking of you and your family at this time. Praying for God’s comfort to be with you.

Leave a Reply

