Rule Book

A decade spans between these five of mine. Two to twelve all plop down on the couches to hear and become devoted. These morning talks fill us, bind us and shape us.

Monday through Friday last week we hashed out in conversations our thoughts about rules. My three oldest kids have arrived at the age at which they need to be free to experiment with making wise choices in the safety of the context of home. The piddly permissions had gotten to be too much. A rule revision was very much in order.

Monday – I read aloud a blog post by the wonderful Signe at “Letting Love Cover It” called: More Rules? We discussed what some of the rules are in our house. I asked them: If you had a chance to change some of the rules in our home would you?

Tuesday – On a chalk board we wrote down what we think the purpose of rules is. I wrote down everything that came up. Brainstorming with children is amazing! We read Matthew 22:35 – 39. We talked about what the most important rule is and what the second most important rule is.

Wednesday – After a quick summary from the week I told them we were going to make a family rule book and that what we talked about this week would go into the book. Then we voted on each item on the chalk board list to come up with the most concise answer to the purpose of rules. We read Matthew 12:1 – 8 and talked about the importance of mercy and our motivation when following and enforcing rules.

Thursday – They got a chance to tell me what rules they would like to replace with the freedom to make their own choices based on the Love God and Love Others principle. We instated changes.

Friday – We shared our ideas to the question: if you could have only one rule for the house what would it be? Then one more scripture reading: Micah 6:8. As was our custom throughout the whole week we ended the morning talk in prayer.

Sunday – The compilation came together with snips of paper, staples, sharpies and a glue stick. You can see our rule book below.

6 thoughts on “Rule Book

  1. I love the idea of letting your children take part in creating your family rule book.

    The rule when I was growing up in, 1940’s & 1950’s America, was children were to be seen, but not heard.

    Will you adopt me? I am already potty trained, and even though I am entering my 8th decade, people who know me say it’s my second childhood.

Leave a Reply

