Sheltered from the Storm

What was she thinking? She saw no alternative. She gave her child away.

The bed carefully prepared. Tears streaming down her face. Wrapping her newborn son she laid him in the basket. Stealth her only concern she made her way to the river side. Making  sure she was alone she gave the soft head one last kiss and shoved the bundle in the the water. It bobbed and swayed. She watched until she could no longer make out its tiny form. Hurrying back to the house she buried her spinning head in her hands.

Had the story ended here what would we say of that birth mom? Would we shake our fingers and scold. How could you? What were you thinking? Crazy woman!

We have to hope that such an extreme act was based in a glimmer of hope that there was a better life for her son than living under the dread of the soldier’s sword. We have to believe in the hand of Jehovah in their lives.

Still One watched over that boy. He watched through a startled sister’s eyes. She hid in the tall grass and scurried quickly along the banks as the water carried her brother to his new mother. Miriam watched as he was taken from the water, his new name bearing to this truth: Moses. In an instance his life was saved by the same race of people that ravaged the country side with bloodshed attempting to snuff out a nation’s existence. Salvation and liberation would come through this Hebrew offspring raised in the oppressor’s home.

The story of Moses fills one with awe at the plan of redemption which began with the birth of a boy.

Now I would like to tell you a similar story about the birth of a girl. Her birth mother’s head may have been spinning after a drastic act in the hopes of a better life for her daughter. Left on a doorstep, abandoned, found and taken in this little girl now has a mama and a papa. She also has a little sister on the way ready to be born in a few short weeks. Her story is just beginning. We hope as it unfolds that the Lord’s hand would be present as it was in the life of Moses.

Just today Romon and Melinda Gore (our missionary interns) gave their new daughter a name. The daughter who is due to arrive at the end of March they have decided to name: Jalynne Miranda. The daughter who came to them last Thursday has been named: Jolee Brooke. These two girls will be raised as twins. Jalynne and Jolee. I like it.

Here are the meanings of the names of this precious five pound, less-than-a-month-old surprise:

Jo (short for Joseph): means Jehovah increases
Lee: sheltered from the storm
Brooke: means water

 

So fitting. God has increased this family with a doubly rich inheritance. I am so very happy for them! And I am so happy for me that I get to babysit. We all love her, as you can see in the following images. She is sweet and soft and so tiny.

I am also so very happy to be able to walk with these first-time parents and help them through the mysterious birthing situation in a foreign country and simultaneously help them with the arduous adoption process. Please pray for strength for Melinda as she still has a few weeks left in the pregnancy before Jalynne is born. You can pray for Romon as well as they are both going to be very busy with these two girls. You can pray for Jolee’s health. You can pray that the whole Gore family has favor before every official they will encounter.

Blog announcement from the parents: Our Growing Family

(Click to see the images enlarged.)

12 thoughts on “Sheltered from the Storm

  1. Thank you so much angie for guiding Melinda and Romon. I am grateful to God and you, you see I am Melinda’s mother and i miss her so much. It’s not easy being the mother of a missionary but I know that I can’t interfere with the work that God has for Melinda. I am missing alot of the things like feeling the baby kick, the birth of my grandchild, the look on her face when she received Jolee. So I feel so much better that God has placed you there for such a time as this. So i simply say THANK YOU and God Bless You!!!!

    1. Dear Luzcelenia,
      I am honored to be a part of Romon and Melinda’s lives, as well as their daughter’s lives. God bless you for recognizing the struggle of being a missionary mother and then turning those difficulties over to the Father. Thank you for supporting Melinda as she obeys God. I pray that you are comforted in this time of missing things.
      Angie

  2. Angie,
    Thank you for this blog! I don’t think anyone could have stated it any better. It is clear that God has blessed you with the gift of words. I am grateful to you for being there for the Gores….you see, I love them soooo much and it makes me rest a little better knowing that they have found a family there in Bolivia. I cannot wait to meet you and kiss on my two new grandbabies, Jolee (my Jobug) and Jaylynne ( my Jaybug)! I am a VERY proud Gigi and I thank God for giving me a double blessing from Romon and Melinda.

    1. Dear Carreda,
      Both Romon and Melinda come from such strong family influences in their lives that it was only natural for them to seek a family structure here in their new home. They have opened their hearts to us and to others here in the Bolivian body of Christ and I admire them for that. It shows true trust in the Lord when you put yourself out their to love people knowing that there might be pain and hurt involved. They will be success in the long run for their choice to love.

      The nicknames are so cute! I am so looking forward to meeting you all as well.
      Angie

    1. Thank you Livvy Lu! God is gracious. Yesterday as the presidentials (the Washingtons and the Gores) were talking some words that you spoke to me came up in my heart so I spoke them out. It felt good to remember your constant and specific encouragement to me in times of difficulties and struggles. Thank you for being a faithful friend. Love you!

  3. WOW!! ROMON!! So awesome to hear and see all about your life and where you’re headed. You were always so great with kids, what a blessing you will be to these girls and what a blessing they will be to you. You got it going on!! Love you!

  4. Beautiful! I love it! God is so amazing and I am at awe of the work he is doing in and through your ministry. To think that a blog ‘game’ by gypsymama connected me to your blog. So glad I ‘played’.

  5. That is so beautiful Angie! Thanks for writing that. I’m still crying from reading it! I’m so happy for Romon and Melinda and for Jolee. She is right where she should be! I’m glad I can help out and live close by. My heart is so full of peace and joy!

Leave a Reply

