I Hold you in My Heart

When was the last time you received a hand-written letter in the mail? When was the last time you took the time to write a letter by hand and send it through regular post? I used to do this all the time. Now I have only a few special people with whom I stay connected thanks to the post. Granted, the post can be unreliable and take for what seems like forever, but I like it. I love the anticipation of holding the weight of an envelope after it traverses continents knowing my friend held those exact papers in her hands before sending them to me. I smell the letter before I open it, after I open it and after I read it and before I re-read it.

When one uproots and goes to live thousands of miles away the enormous trepidation can choke. The wondering begins. Who will remain a close friend? Who will I have to let go of… for this season? The answers surprise.

One friend who I met at art club in high school remains close. I get to see her in just a few days! I am so grateful for this friendship.

Becky and me (and Tyler) the last time we were together

I have stayed tight with a few more ladies who I have met along the way. Even though our paths diverged after a time of walking hand in hand we stay close because we hold each other’s hearts.

Talk Topic Q: How do you stay in touch with friends who live far away from you?

Leave a Reply

