My Best Friend

Quote from the movie Tombstone

Turkey Creek Jack Johnson: Why you doin’ this, Doc?

Doc Holliday: Because Wyatt Earp is my friend.

Turkey Creek Jack Johnson: Friend? Hell, I got lots of friends.

Doc Holliday: … I don’t.

Those lines come at the end of the following clip. In case you prefer your children not hear the word ‘hell’ used as an expletive you might want to wait to watch it.

My husband, DaRonn, and I are best friends. We’ve been that way since high school. Some take the liberty to say, “Oh, you were high school sweethearts!” Nope. We really were just very good friends. The romantic stuff didn’t start until the year we were engaged and then married (1996).

Movies are one of the things both he and I love. His recall for quoting flicks is nothing less than astounding. I amuse him with my atrocious actor identification skills. Not many favorite shows appear on both of our lists. Yet, Tombstone happens to be one of those rare ones that we both thoroughly enjoy.

The reason might just be the theme of loyalty displayed in this Western cowboy show. Shared values in a marriage makes things run much smoother. Whereas the two individuals needn’t be identical in this area, some close similarities makes for a more peaceful home. The character trait of loyalty can be found in the top ten of most important values to both DaRonn and I.

We hang out together frequently throughout the week. When I see something cool his name pops into my mind to call first. We seek and take advice from each other. I am so very happy to be able to call my man my best friend.

Talk Topic Q: What do you do to stay friends with your spouse?

P.S. From this union of friendship and martial devotion have come five wonderful children. The youngest son turns five today! Happy birthday Tyler!

2 thoughts on “My Best Friend

  1. Nick and I were also just friends before we started the romantic stuff. To stay friends we playfully tease each other. Laughing together bonds us.

Leave a Reply

