9.11.11

On this day 10 years ago I was tidying up our empty little duplex when the phone rang.

For most of us our activities on that fateful Tuesday, no matter how mundane, will be forever seared in our memories.

The voice on the other end of the line told me what had happened in New York.

I slumped into the tattered carpet by my bed. Not sure what to say I closed the conversation with, “Oh, by the way, Happy Birthday mom.”

The hours, days and weeks following saw a country reel in disillusionment and terror. While the leaders grappled with hard decisions our little family unit did as well.

Do we go?

Numerous people wondered if we would follow through with plans that had been in the making for years.

  1. We had gone through mission school.
  2. We had many people praying for us and giving financially to help us.
  3. We had given away or sold nearly all our worldly possessions… at least the ones that would not fit into our 15 Rubbermaid crates.
  4. We had purchased one way tickets for my husband, our 3 year old daughter, our 2 year old son, our 1 month old daughter and me.
  5. We had a choice to make.

Do we go?

Where is the safest place on earth?    (Sweden?   New Zealand?   Canada?   Omaha, Nebraska?)

The most secure place is smack dab in the center of God’s will.

So, do we go?

Yes.

Just a few weeks after the day that changed the U.S. nation forever we landed in the land of our destiny.

Bolivia, South America

  1. The poorest nation in all of South America
  2. Known for their principal product of exportation: the raw ingredient of cocaine, the coca leaf
  3. A land of rich natural resources suffering under the tyranny of corrupt politicians
  4. A place where a child is sold for about $3 into forced slave labor, or worse
  5. A nation we have come to call Home Sweet Home

[This excerpt came from my presentation for Florence Christian Church in Omaha, Nebraska this morning. I am so very grateful to Pastor Jeff Hicks and his wife Angie for this opportunity. I am also super happy that Shawn and Nick, my sister and brother-in-law, set it all up for us.]

4 thoughts on “9.11.11

  1. It was a really great presentation. people at the church picnic kept coming up to me telling me what a great job you did, how much they enjoyed hearing you, and how organized and easy to follow it was. Im really proud of you Ang. I thought it was great and i am so glad that my church got to hear from you. Thank you so much for doing this. I am honored that you came! and i love you so much. it was a blessing to me to get to see you in action!

Leave a Reply

