10 Favorite Spots in the World

 “Wherever you are, be all there! Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” – Jim Elliot, missionary martyr to Ecuador

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry and narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

When I was a small child people asked me what I wanted to be. I told them, “Famous.” Later I added a farmer’s wife and someone who travels the world. I consider DaRonn a spiritual farmer and together we have traveled a bunch. We’re not through yet, either.

A list of my 10 most favorite spots in the world, so far.

10. Standley’s Chasm – West of Alice Springs in Australia. As a foreign exchange student fresh out of high school I explored this beautiful reserve along with other kids from our group. Not many other tourists were there that day. The mystery of the native land and the formation of the chasm took my breath away.

9. The Old Market – Omaha, Nebraska. The Antiquarium, cobblestone roads, nook and cranny coffee shops, contemporary musicians and artists, the slides, tall old brick walls, and the reminiscence of my new-found teenage independence behind the wheel of my convertible.

8. Colorado – Skiing by moonlight as a seven-year-old girl, long winding drives, my first glimpses of the gentle giants, gondola rides, our honeymoon, and my tan corduroy cap.

7. Walking a dirt path under the African sun – The expanse stretching out to the left, right, behind and before rolled dusty golden swirling steamy with the cerulean sky.  Grass huts with smokey stems dropped strewn across the grass plains like dried sycamore figs. As our deep, dark brown and sunburned peach elbows interlocked Flora smiled and spoke to me of her beloved land which shall ever hold me in her heart.

6. At an airport people watching – Some of my most inspired writing takes place during this very act.

5. In cool water swimming – Not just splashing around, rather the athletic activity of swimming happens to be the only sport I enjoy doing. Love it.

4. Salar de Uyuni – I visited the world’s largest salt flat twice. Happens to be right here in good old Bolivia.  Can’t wait to go again. You know you can see Chile from there? And petrified mummies on the side of a volcano? And flamingos? And the most exotic landscape on the face of the planet… you’ll think you are in another world.

3. Summit of Mt. Tunari – The rigors and glories of climbing to the summit of a mountain transcend the capacity of printed words to express its fullness.

2. Oceanside beaches – With my family as an 11-year-old child I took my first airplane ride for a historical site seeing trip in the Maryland and D.C. area in the States. As a teenager I swam in the Great Barrier Reef of Australia. I discovered I was pregnant with my first child on the Costa Rica shoreline. To celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary we watched beautiful couples dancing the tango in Buenos Aires, Argentina. For our 12th wedding anniversary we walked the ruins of Machu Picchu after a spin through Lima, Peru. Someday I would like to see come European seasides.

1. In my husband’s arms – As prompted by a survey floating around the internet a while back I asked my children a series of questions. When I asked Raimy, “Where is your mom’s favorite place to go?” She replied, “Into bed with Papa.”  Yep.

*** Next list: 10 Tastiest Foods in Bolivia ***

2 thoughts on “10 Favorite Spots in the World

Leave a Reply

