10 Best Missions Books and Articles

Biographies comprise half of my list. I tend to prefer stories rather than instructional manuals. Please feel free to add your favorite missions books, articles or video links in the comments; I love to learn new things.

10. ‘Saint Patrick of Ireland’ by: Philip Freeman – My most favorite missions school teacher David Henry, a veteran missionary, had a long list of books and articles for us to read. We had to write short reports on what we learned from the assigned reading. Then, he facilitated in depth discussions in which we all participated. This fascinating biography from that time stuck with me.

9.  ‘Appointment in Jerusalem’ by: Derek Prince and Lydia Prince – What a thrill to read about the wife of the man who prayed with me to receive Christ as my Lord and Savior! This gutsy woman amazes me with her love and commitment.

8. Mother Teresa – I went looking online for the actual biography I read but there are so many I don’t remember which one it is. Right now my oldest daughter is reading it and has it with her at school. I love passing along great books to my kids.

7. ‘Through Gates of Splendor’ by: Elisabeth Elliot – Reading this book as a young teen I faced the issue of martyrdom for the first time ever. I also saw a glimpse at what walking in the kind of love God asks us to requires of us. I first heard the call to a life of extremes whispered on the pages of this book.

6. ‘On the Golden Shore: The Life of Adoniram Judson’ by: Courtney Anderson – An action packed biography of the life on Adoniram Judson and his mission to the Burmese people.

5. ‘Eternity in Their Hearts’ by: Don Richardson – A mind blowing look at how God makes himself known to all cultures of all eras and how we can cooperate with the eternal plan of God already in motion.

4. Perspectives – I think I would very much enjoy participating in a complete Perspectives course because the one book we own has been of great benefit to us as missionaries. The monster volume is a collection of articles written by dozens of missionaries and people working in the field of missions. The articles are grouped for easy reference. Highly recommended for anyone serious about doing mission work.

3. ‘When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty without Hurting the Poor… and Yourself’ by: Brian Fikkert, Steve Corbett and John Perkins – Even thought I haven’t yet read this book it is very high up on my upcoming reads list because I have heard so many wonderful things about it.

2. ‘Language Acquisition Made Practical’ (L.A.M.P.) by: E. Thomas Brewster and Elizabeth S. Brewster – Plop me down in any country with this book and I will be conversing with the natives in their own tongue in a very short time. The book doesn’t teach you the language. It teaches you effective strategies on how to learn a language.

1. The Bible – Look at the life of Jesus, the ultimate missionary. Feel the passion of the original apostles. Watch Paul as he travels. Hear the prophets boldly proclaim the will of God. Walk with the patriarchs of the Old Testament. The heart of God expressed in words tells the beautiful story of mission from cover to cover of the Bible.

*** Next list: 10 Most Memorable Moments of Culture Shock ***

6 thoughts on “10 Best Missions Books and Articles

  1. so fun! thanks for the list. i went and added them to my amazon wish list. i am currently reading when helping hurts and i am loving it! such a great book on the different styles of missions and where we’ve gone wrong in the past and how to make sure we’re actually helping. =)

Leave a Reply

