My Saturday Morning Thinking Snack Humintas al Horno

It’s called ‘Huminta al Horno’. Here it is pictured fresh out of the oven. It’s a dense, moist, corn bread wrapped in corn husks. Two types of humintas exist in Bolivia, baked and boiled. I prefer baked.

Gives new meaning to the mascot of my beloved state of birth: Cornhusker. You peel back the husks trying not to burn your fingers in your haste to get the delectable goodness to your mouth. The huminta is the size of my hand.

I couldn’t tell you how to make them but I can tell you how to eat them and how they taste. The main ingredients are white corn meal, a salty-melty-white-hard cheese made locally, and aniseed. Hardy, sweet, filling, and just plain good.

2 thoughts on “My Saturday Morning Thinking Snack Humintas al Horno

  1. wow that does sound really good. and it looks good too. i love when you talk about your local delecasies. and the photos are great.

Leave a Reply

