If you could…

… live in any time period for a month, while retaining the knowledge you have now, what time period would it be?

… take one gadget and a reliable power source for the gadget on that time travel trip (aside from your time travel machine, of course) which would you take?

… meet one person (dead or alive) who would it be?

… ask that person one thing, what would it be?

… invent something with the guarantee it would work, what would you invent?

Thanks for playing!

In other news: Summer, summer, summer tiiiiiiime!

8 thoughts on “If you could…

  1. 1. The 90’s! I miss the 90s! They rocked…at least, in my growing up eyes they did.

    2. Well, a Smartphone would be pointless, so I would take my Xbox 360 back and blow their minds!

    3. Ted Dekker

    4. Ask him how in the world he writes three friggen books a year.

    5. A way to clean floors without vacuum cleaners…this is the 21st century, we should have better tech then vacuum cleaners! (That’s not a joke either…I really would, I hate vacuum cleaners with a passion…funny, because I work with one every day).

    1. I didn’t know who Ted Dekker was so I found his web site. Wow, he is quite accomplished as a writer. Impressive. I read his bio and discovered he grew up as an MK (missionary kid). Cool. I am not a fan of vacuum cleaners, either.

  2. 1. I kinda like now, but if I have to choose I guess I would go back to the 16 or 17 hundreds to see the middle ages and meet some great saints.

    2. I would take my ipod with lots of reference works downloaded – history and medical with simple home remedies and such since I would need to survive the month and hopefully help a few others along the way.

    3. Jesus

    4. Too many to list here! :)

    5. Transporter beam – I’d love to say “beam me up Scotty” and be able to travel back & forth between continents more quickly and easily! I would also like to have the hovercraft so I don’t have to drive the awful roads anymore :)

    How about you Angie? What are your answers?

    1. Hi Lynn. :)

      You made me chuckle with the practicality of your gadget… “I would need to survive the month”. Ha!
      I wondered if anyone would ask about my answers. Cool!

      I would like to visit Oxford in June of 1942 so I could hear C.S. Lewis preach the sermon The Weight of Glory. I would also visit as many gatherings of the Inklings during that month that I could. I would start a discussion by asking Lewis, in the presence of Tolkien, “If you could know the full extent of the impact your writings would make, would you want to be told?” I would bring with me an iPhone with an audio and video recording device as well as a camera. As for an invention I have often desired to own a tele-transporter like you describe.

  3. … live in any time period for a month, while retaining the knowledge you have now, what time period would it be?

    I would love to travel to the future (which I believe will be better) if I could live in it. For only one month I would go back to the early 1920’s, the Jazz age. I could listen to a young Louis Armstrong live. Go see Duke Ellington at the Cotton Club. Watch Babe Ruth drive the ball out of newly built Yankee Stadium. Go to Paris and witness the beginnings of the surrealist art movement. Rub shoulders with Picasso and Ernest Hemingway. Of course I would have to learn French before I step into the time machine.

    … take one gadget and a reliable power source for the gadget on that time travel trip (aside from your time travel machine, of course) which would you take?

    A recording device so I when found a way into Gertrude Stein’s saloon I could have a permanent record of the conversations between people like Matisse and Picasso.

    … meet one person (dead or alive) who would it be?

    Mark Twain

    … ask that person one thing, what would it be?

    Tell me a story. I don’t know what I would learn but I am sure it would be an amazing story.

    … invent something with the guarantee it would work, what would you invent?

    A kind of cellphone/iPad, affordable for every one in the world, with an endless supply of power, that at the press of a button would allow one person to talk to anyone else, anywhere, and would translate the meaning true behind the words they speak to one another.

    1. Oh, I like the idea of hearing Mark Twain tell you a story! I agree it would be more than amazing.

      Your invention sounds marvelous. Let me know if you ever get around to making that a reality. I want one!

  4. I would want to go back to the time right after creation, to see the earth as it was when God first formed it.

    I would bring a digital camera with an 8GB memory card.

    I have always thought it would be cool to meet Keith Green.

    I might ask him what the most challenging part of his ministry was.

    My invention would be a personal climate device. It would be small, no bigger than a cell phone, and be worn at the waist. This device would be programmable to your exact climate preferences, creating an area of ideal temperature and humidity in the air immediately surrounding your body. This would permit you to dress as you wish without concern for the weather. :-)

    1. Becky, your climate device sounds awesome! I would totally use one. :)

      Thanks for your answers. I was surprised to learn you would like to speak with Keith Green. I love learning new things about my friends. You are very cool.

Leave a Reply

