Trail Mix

Now on with the crunchy, munchy, mixed-up life I lead…

  • We got Kaitlynn’s Visa! Which means the U.S. government has seen our compliance with the mandatory 2 years of her living with us in order to grant her the permission step foot on U.S. soil. Such benevolence towards her parents who just happen to be born and bred citizens of those grand United States. When asked the reasoning behind the 2 years they said, “It’s to prevent child trafficking. Also, it is to ensure that people follow the legal process of finishing the adoption in Bolivia. And, that’s just the way it is.” As the agent looks at her shoes and shuffles papers. Bah. Enough cynicism about a system I have no control over. Just glad she has the visa now. Yeah!

 

  • Now we are planning a three-month family trip to the United States! The children haven’t been back in 6 1/2 years. Wow. If you want to help with expenses of this trip just let me know. The goal is to leave January 21st.

 

 

  • I am back to jogging. Glory be! I injured my ankle late October. Thought I let it heal good a few weeks and eased back into the exercise. Was doing great jogging 3 or 4 times a week until the first part of December. The ankle flared up again. The orthopedic surgeon ordered x-rays. He prescribed physical therapy sessions for ligament realignment. After a couple weeks of electrode-therapeutic-shock, heat wraps, ultrasonic ray treatment, baby oil massages, and special strengthening calisthenics I was cleared to go back to jogging. 10 minutes the first day. 12 minutes the next. 15 the following. And so on and so forth. Tomorrow I get to go for a full 20 minutes. Nice!

 

  • The rainy season has finally cooled off our Southern Hemisphere Summer. The Bolivian tardiness of fashionably late applies to weather as well, it appears.

 

  • Re-reading “Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver. How I adore this book! What are you reading these days?

 

  • My devout readers (the whole dozen of you – thank you for your patronage – smiley face emoticon) will remember my post of the cards. So far I feel that we are down to two: A. The church. B. Homemaking. C. The orphanage. and D. Writing. These two  finalists might actually co-habituate quite nicely, in fact.

 

  • I admire these people that are posting highlights from their year by way of “top-posts”, photos, or other such well thought out media publications. Bravo all! I don’t think that I really want to do that at this moment. How about this? How about you leave me a link of your most favorite online moment this year? Maybe it’s from your blog. Maybe someone else’s. Maybe from youtube, or twitter, or instagram. That would be fun to see what you remember from ALL of 2012 as your favorite on the interwebs.

 

  • Finally, some Angie randomness… oh wait, that’s been this whole post. Well, then, onward with the randomness. Two very funny t.v. shows that I have been enjoying: ‘The Neighbors’ and ‘Miranda’. Bless you comedy writers! “So shines a good deed in a weary world.” Shakespeare or Wonka … whichever Willy you prefer to attribute the quote to. Humor was a much needed ray of light for this December of mine.

 

signature2

One thought on “Trail Mix

  1. Count me in the lucky dozen!! Although I don’t always post a comment I’m usually reading! I like your choices of cards. I’m going to choose housekeeping too and am gonna rededicate to the Flylady.org system most likely kickin’ and screamin’ but it’s just GOTTA get done!

    I look forward to hopefully seeing ALL of you in the new year! So happy for you guys!

    Big hugs and here’s to a KICK’N 2013!!

Leave a Reply

