Birds, Lightening Bolts, and Hot Air Balloons

Mrs. Piggle Wiggle taught me to listen to my kids’ dreams. She was known in her neighborhood for being a dream listener. The kids would come to her upside down house and tell her in vivid detail every aspect of the stories of their sleep, because she was the only adult who would listen to them. Ever since I revealed that nugget to my children by reading the books about this clever woman aloud to them I decided to be a dream listener. I would be that adult my children could confide their sleeping secrets to.

The dreamy heights of Mt. Tunari
(The dreamy heights of Mt. Tunari)

 

This morning my thirteen year old son awoke and came directly to my room. In his scratchy just-woke-up voice of a boy turning man he said, “I want to tell you my dream.” As his puffy eyes adjusted to the light he told of birds, and lightening, and a black armored horse that talked, and other fascinating things. His dream had color, emotion, death, victory, sounds, and a story line. He laughed as he told me of certain parts. We sat shocked by other elements. Then he padded off to eat his breakfast.

The conversation stayed with me. I wondered about the meaning. Some very interesting pointers can be found on the world wide web. I treat that information like that which I would receive from a tour guide at an art museum. The guide can tell you the historic interpretation of the pieces, and can even give you insight as to what the artist was thinking or intending with the art. Personal exchange with a work of art has very little to do with text book facts, though, and very much to do with the emotional reaction art stirs in the soul of the one exposed to the work. This is the same with dream interpretation sites. They can guide you, but ultimately you are the only one who can decidedly determine the meaning of your own dreams.

So I called my son to me. I asked him, “Do you know what dream interpretation is?”

He turned his head to the side and answered with a question, “Like in the bible?”

With a note of surprise in my voice I said, “Yes, like in the bible. And did you know that sometimes we can interpret the dreams we have?” He shook his head with an intrigued smile on his face and eyes curious.

Thus began our tour through the museum of his mind. We looked at the suggested interpretations of the elements in his dream. We talked of feelings and change. We turned over the images and talked about what they might mean for his life now. As the conversation carried on the siblings wandered in one by one and stayed. Time passed quickly as we shared and talked and analyzed together.

Per my intent it would seem that the boy left the conversation empowered with a greater confidence. My son needs this so much right now in his life. This comes as an answer to prayer. How wonderful I got to see some transformation take place right before my own eyes.

Before all the other kids came in I shared with him how a dream had helped me. What an honor to be able to connect with him in this way.

“We lived for two years in Santa Cruz before moving to Cochabamba,” I began. “We had a hard time with the missionaries we worked with there.” I took a moment to tell him of some of the things that had happened to us. He affirmed the hardship and listened intently.

“So we had to come to Cochabamba. It was very hard for me to forgive. I had hate in my heart. Everyday I would remember something and it would hurt so bad. I had to pray so much every time something came to mind. Every time I had hateful feelings I had to pray for help to stop hating. For weeks and then months these memories came with strong feelings and I had to pray. It was so hard.” He continued to nod, waiting to hear more.

“So one night I had a dream. I was in the busy plaza of Santa Cruz and there were many people all around. I saw in the distance this missionary couple coming towards me. I though to myself in my dream, ‘How will I respond when I see them face to face?’ There was doubt and fear in my heart. Then came just a sense of curiosity. They kept coming closer to me and I kept wondering as I watched them. Then they were standing in front of me and all of a sudden I stuck out my hand and greeted them as I would any other person. The exchange was cordial and friendly. I smiled at them. They greeted me back. Then they walked away. I watched them leave and then I turned to my side where there was a hot air balloon, all big and bright. I got into the hot air balloon basket and started floating away.” My son laughed and gazed with amazement.

I finished the true tale, “When I woke up an overwhelming sense of forgiveness was all over me and in me. All the hate was gone. All the fear was gone. I knew for sure that from that moment on I was free of all that had hurt me. And since that day I haven’t struggled with the negative emotions like I had before. The daily fight was gone.”

All he could say was, “Wow.” Then he asked me to do a search about hot air balloons in dreams. Sure enough, the little quip spoke of overcoming a hardship, rising above, and becoming a bigger and better person.

I heard once someone say that when God can’t get through to you in your waking hours (implying you won’t listen to Him, or whatever) that He has to resort to dreams during your sleeping hours to speak to you. I don’t agree with that. I see dreams as a wonderful way God can speak to you with a story created just for your life. Putting vivid dreams before Him with thoughtful consideration and honest reflection can bring revelation in our lives. Like in the bible.

signature2

2 thoughts on “Birds, Lightening Bolts, and Hot Air Balloons

  1. hmmmm… i never doubted that God could/would speak through dreams. i guess i’ve always been a bit hesitant, though, with those aspects of faith that are more mystical. God has been challenging me in that respect…

    thanks for sharing your story and your perspective. you’ve given me more to think about.

Leave a Reply

