Birth Stories – 9 – Mercy

bunny birth stories logoMaking close friends is a necessity for survival when you are far from blood relatives. The Holman family has a few kids the same ages as a few of our kids. Mrs. Holman and Mrs. Washington have formed an especially tight bond. Yes, I just referred to myself in the 3rd person. According to Mr. Holman this is because I rock. I am so grateful for their friendships. I feel so privileged they allowed me to be present at the birth of their Bolivian born daughter, Mercy.

I was in the room the whole time Denise labored. She was so beautiful. The contractions would come and go. She would get quiet, go into herself for a while, and then as the pressure let up she would again engage in the conversation in the room. It wasn’t long. This was their 11th child. I watched, prayed, encouraged, and chatted.

The delivery room they took her to for the final moments of pushing was crowded, hot and teeny tiny. They weren’t there long, so I am sorry I didn’t ask to go with them. I learned then that if I want to walk this path I need to take the initiative to make it happen, not wait for it to come to me. I don’t want to be the one who hangs back left in the waiting room ever again. I know with all my heart that I want to be a midwife.

signature2

6 thoughts on “Birth Stories – 9 – Mercy

  1. Doitdoitdoitdoit! It’s one of my big regrets that I didn’t become a midwife. I thought of it so many times after becoming a nurse! So proud of you and can’t wait to follow this journey. Call the midwife for sure!

    1. Wow! What a great encourager you are, Marilyn! I’m starting from zero medical training; so this will be interesting indeed. I am glad you will be following along. Yes! I watch ‘Call the Midwife’ as well as two British reality shows called ‘One Born Every Minute’ and ‘Midwives’. Currently reading ‘Spiritual Midwifery’ by: Ina May Gaskins and I have a whole wish list on Amazon with over 30 titles of textbooks and other books I want to obtain. :-)

  2. That’s very exciting! I don’t know much about what it takes to become a midwife but I do know enough about you and about having children to say that you would be wonderful in a birthing room. You are such an encourager and a calm presence.

    1. Wow, Beth, those are huge compliments. Thank you so much for acknowledging those specific traits about what you see in me. That means so much because you know me – the good, the bad, and the ugly. Ha ha ha! :-) I am so glad you are cheering me on.

Leave a Reply

