Four Schools for Distance Study to become a Direct Entry CPM (Certified Professional Midwife)

I have narrowed my choices down to four schools. These provide distance study programs to become a Direct Entry CPM (Certified Professional Midwife). This path of schooling is distinguished by the fact that I am choosing to not become a nurse first.

These schools share a few things in common:

  • First 2 years – technical training
  • Second 2 years  – technical training, clinical hours, and attendance of a certain number of births with a certified preceptor
  • Finalization of the training – taking the NARM test to be certified

Ordered by preference, Est. total cost* ($US) for the 4 years of study

# 1 Institute of Holistic Midwifery, based out of Virginia, 10,300
# 2 Midwives College of Utah, 28,900
# 3 Nizhoni, based out of Michigan, 25,900
# 4 Aviva College, based out of Minnesota, 29,400

*Includes: application fee, administration fee, tuition, other school fees, NARM application ($1,000), book costs ($2,000), materials costs ($300)
*Not included: travel costs to attain the necessary clinical hours and attend the required number of births with a qualified preceptor

The U.S.A is playing catch up

My search pulled up so many fabulous programs based out of Australia, New Zealand, England, the Philippines, Belgium, and The Netherlands.  The midwifery situation in the U.S. seems to be tangled up in many political issues which has stunted its progression. It only makes sense for me to study with a program from the States because of my citizenship, paperwork realities, and financial aid options. For the travel requirements of the second half of my training the logical country to ping-pong back and forth from is the U.S.  so I might see friends and family while I am there.

As I continue to explore my options other more brilliant choices might present themselves – especially for the second half of my training. I am excited to see where this path leads, quite literally.

When

My realistic aim is to be enrolled to start classes August of 2015. That’s a year away. One year to sort out the financial side of things, apply (and get accepted), and find a way to get my hands on some text books. Doable, right?

Wanna help?

My natural inclination after so many years as a missionary is to invite you to participate in this journey with me. Thank you for doing that already by reading, showing interest with your comments, and for encouraging me along the way. I think a support group of people is so vital.

Another way you could help me out is to continue to pray for: clarity in my brain, creativity to solve the logistic realities, energy to see this through, provision, and connections with key people. Thanks for that!

I am really so very excited about this. DaRonn has been super supportive and encouraging, I love that! All my kids are happy for me too.

Toborochi Tree

This morning I had a revelatory moment as I pondered my favorite tree. I first fell in love with the tree during my time living in Santa Cruz, Bolivia so very long ago. My oldest were toddlers at the time and would call these trees ‘honey pot trees’ because they are swollen in the middles. In Bolivia this tree represents femininity because of its form and the pink flowers that fill their branches in the Spring. Even way back then I was drawn to a womanly part of nature. The deeper significance of that yearning has reassured me once again of the good path I am on.

Me next to a Toborochi tree April 2012, family vacation to Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Me next to a Toborochi tree April 2012, family vacation to Santa Cruz, Bolivia

signature2

3 thoughts on “Four Schools for Distance Study to become a Direct Entry CPM (Certified Professional Midwife)

  1. Angie, I am so excited (and proud!) for you as you begin this journey! I look forward to following along and supporting you in prayer and encouragement. Love you!

Leave a Reply

