Thanksgiving Gift

Patterns can be deciphered only after the passage of time. We hear beauty in music because we anticipate repetition, as well as remember what came before.

My life used to be driven by goals, small objectives to reach those goals, and problem solving along the way until those expectation boxes could be checked. My eyes fixed forward rarely glanced to the sides and abhorred what laid behind. I rushed ahead at breakneck speed.

Recently, like over the past five years, I have started to value awareness over accomplishment and affection over ambition. In this new way of looking at things I have loosened my grip on accusatory tendencies (both towards myself and those around me) and moved in the direction of unconditional acceptance of all people, including myself. I began to open my vision to more than only what lies ahead, but also to who walks beside me, and occurrences from my past informing my present reality.

Goals are good, but they are only part of all the good in this life.

Accomplishments help people, but they are not the only thing that help people.

Driven people, such as myself, sometimes get a lead foot. It serves us well, at times, to slow down and even stop the car.

Thanksgiving morning I sat in bed doing one of my favorite “slowing down” things: writing and doodling with a pencil in my notebook. As of late my prayers have become provincial and sporadic. Journaling moments have become as prayer for me. Even the drawings are my heart spilled out for my God to hear. He understands. I believe. That morning my thoughts and “prayers” turned to employment in the Sates.

For this fresh start to work we both need to work. I knew that was one of the stipulations we agreed on as we talked through the decision. I wasn’t worried or anxious. I knew, though, that with only my lonely little high school diploma to present to future bosses I had to fill out a resume with life experience stuff.  I also needed to be open to any kind of job that came my way. I had puttered around with putting on paper my past positions and dates of employment. I had done a few searches online to see what was out there in Omaha.

On Thanksgiving morning I made a list of what kind of job I would like to work when we get to the States. The basic gist of the list is this:

“I want to do something I enjoy with people I get along with and get paid for it.”

Reductive living is the name of game at this stage, my friends. I scratched a few more thoughts on the page about weekday hours which allowed time for study. I also noted the idea of working within a creative, purposeful team for a company which was upstanding in the community.

It felt insignificant and ho-hum at the moment. The day progressed with much merry making and lots of fun with a few other families gathered together to eat, give thanks, and play games. I got home late at night. After the little kids were put to bed I sat down to check on my friends who live inside my computer.

One of the messages stopped me completely. The brakes were full on, folks. I read and re-read to comprehend the words on the screen. I cried as I remembered my morning “prayers”.

A job offer!

It felt as though God slipped his arm around my shoulders and whispered in my ear, “Here you go; you don’t have to give up.”

See, the thing is, there was part of me that was grieving the giving up of a missionary life. We are coming off the field. We are seeking stability. Even my Isaac-like life as a missionary had to be put on the altar. I see the necessity of going to the States. It just makes me sad for so many reasons, and this was one of them.

This unsolicited job offer came from an organization fighting human trafficking in South East Asia!

It came from a dear friend, Laura Parker. We met about five years ago through our blogs. I was the first person who came to her mind when the position was being made. The job is Communications Manager doing the online stuff of: the bloggers community, facebook, twitter, pinterest, etc. It’s a part time gig.

They want to pay me, too! Where do I sign?

ER signing 12.12.14

Me officially accepting the job I start January 5th, even before we get to the States. I am so excited!

This gift came to me on Thanksgiving and I have not stopped giving thanks for it. I am so humbled to be invited to be a part of this phenomenal team empowering rescue and fighting to end modern day slavery.

When I sat down with my children to tell them about this new job I used my words carefully. “I will be helping an organization who operates in Asia to legally shut down places where people have women and children as slaves. These slaves are forced to do things with their bodies that they do not want to do. Using online connections I will help people get the word out so more people will join in to help free those slaves.”

One of the kids said, “So basically your job is a super hero.” I have such great kids.

The name of this amazing team of super heroes is called: Exodus Road. <– Click the link to read more.

"Rescue is Coming" Exodus Road t-shirt
“Rescue is Coming” Exodus Road logo t-shirt

I began this post speaking about patterns. A pattern is emerging. I am so thrilled to see it happen.

  • One of my closest friends, Andrea Baker, and her husband Andy lead an incredible ministry called Word Made Flesh Bolivia which serves to give abundant life to woman and children affected by prostitution. I have always admired their work.
  • Our former interns, Melinda and Romon Gore, have begun a ministry in the Dominican Republic to house underage girls who were victims of child trafficking and prostitution. Red Roots is all about bringing restoration to the broken. Love that!
  • My desire to become a midwife has led me to become informed about the dire issues worldwide regarding victimized women. The passion to become involved has been slowly growing.

It would seem that my path has been leading me in the direction of helping bring freedom to women.

I am humbled and honored to be invited to help in the abolitionist movement of my time.

Thank you to all who have been praying for us through this transition. This is one of many answers to prayer that we have been seeing. Though undeserving and still messed up I receive this kiss from Heaven and I am so very thankful.

signature2

17 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Gift

  1. I am so excited for you and your family! I love seeing and hearing about God answering prayers. Angie, He is using you to be such an example of faith in Him for your kids, your family, the communities you reach out to, and especially to you. Praying continually for you and your family for safety and well being through this transition to the States.

    1. Thank you so very, very much for the prayers, Julie. That really touches my heart that you are coming alongside us in such a precious way.

  2. The picture of you in front of the computer screen is awesome. That, Angie, is the smile of a 12 year old awed at the provision of God. Brilliant! I am so very happy for you. :-)

  3. Que maravilloso es Dios, doy gracias a Dios por su vida y por el propósito para el cual fue escogida, usted y su esposo, Es hermoso el trabajo que realizaron estos años. Prosigo hacia la meta para obtener el premio del supremo llamamiento de Dios en Cristo Jesús. Filipenses 3:14 . Dios con ustedes. cielos abiertos y viento a su favor siempre. un abrazo desde Monterrey Nuevo León México

    1. Diana, aprecio muchisimo tus palabras de aliento y el versículo en Filipenses. Es cierto, Dios está en medio de todo esto y podemos confiar en Él.

  4. Filipenses3:14 prosigo hacia la meta para obtener el premio del supremo llamamiento de Dios en Cristo Jesús. Doy gracias a Dios por sus vidas y por el propósito para el cual fueron escogidos. Dios es bueno, cielos abiertos, y viento a su favor siempre. un abrazo desde Monterrey Nuevo León Mexico.

  5. What a wonderful confirmation of your continuous desire to be in God’s will. You are not really leaving the mission field. God is expanding your mission field and using the amazing gift of writing He has placed within you to enrich and touch lives! God bless you as you take the next step.

Leave a Reply

